Niang a Senior CLASS Award All-American


The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

AMES, Iowa – All of Georges Niang’s previous honors have been for his accomplishment’s on the court, but his latest accolade recognizes his accomplishments in the classroom and the community, along with his impressive résumé as a basketball player. 

Niang has been named a Senior CLASS Award All-America Second-Team honoree, joining his former teammate Melvin Ejim as the only Cyclone men’s basketball players to receive the honor. Ejim was a first-team selection in 2014.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

To be eligible, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: classroom, community, character and competition.


Denzel Valentine, Michigan State

Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Justin Sears, Yale


Georges Niang, Iowa State

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Marcus Paige, North Carolina

Fred VanVleet, Wichita State

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga



Cyclone Fanatic