• Fanatics -

    Thank you for your patience today and welcome to the newest version of Cyclone Fanatic!

    Most of the changes we have made are very simple, but will greatly improve your user experience while visiting the website.

    We have upgraded our forum software to speed things up. Our homepage is much cleaner and should be even more mobile friendly than before.

    We appreciate your loyalty and are committed to not only keeping Cyclone Fanatic in tip-top shape, but continuing to build this community for the next decade and beyond.

    We ask that if you are experiences any glitches to let us know in this thread . Will will be diligently working on the site all day.

    Thanks again.

    Chris Williams - Publisher

Niang earns NABC Second-Team All-America accolades


AMES, Iowa – Iowa State senior Georges Niang has been named a National Association of Basketball Coaches All-America Second-Team honoree, announced Monday by the organization. 

Niang, who was a third-team pick by the NABC as a junior, finished his senior season averaging 20.5 points per game, the most by any Cyclone since Craig Brackins averaged 20.2 points in 2009. Niang also averaged a career-high 6.2 rebounds and shot 54.6 percent from the floor, 39.2 percent from 3-point range and 80.7 percent from the free-throw line.

Niang is just the 24th player since 1994-95 and the first since Creighton’s Doug McDermott did it in 2013-14 to average 20.0 points, 6.0 rebounds while also shooting at least 50 percent from the field and 80 percent at the line.

He scored in double figures in all 35 games, posting 17 games with 20 or more points and four games with 30 or more. 

NABC All-America First Team

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Ben Simmons, LSU

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State

NABC All-America Second Team

Kris Dunn, Providence

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Jakob Poeltl, Utah

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky

NABC All-America Third Team

Grayson Allen, Duke

Kay Felder, Oakland

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana

Josh Hart, Villanova

Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa