Ejim named ISU’s Male Athlete of the Year

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State All-American men’s basketball player Melvin Ejim’s season started with a bang, scoring 22 points in 28 minutes in an upset win over No. 7 Michigan in November. His career was punctuated today when he was named ISU’s Male Athlete of the Year for 2013-14. 

Ejim, an All-American by five organizations, was the Big 12’s Player and Scholar-Athlete of the Year after helping the Cyclones to a 28-8 record, a Big 12 Tournament championship and an appearance in the Sweet 16. 

His accomplishments on the court make him the first men’s basketball player to earn the award since Jake Sullivan shared it with wrestling’s Zach Roberson in 2004.

Ejim missed the first two games of the season after suffering a hyperextended knee in practice. He returned for Iowa State’s highly-anticipated, nationally-televised showdown with the Wolverines. The Toronto, Ontario native entered the game to a standing ovation with 16:17 left in the first half. The rest is history. 

Ejim went on to put together one of the best seasons in school history. He finished third in the Big 12 in scoring (17.8) and tied for second in rebounding (8.4). He joined teammate DeAndre Kane as the only players in the Big 12 ranked in the top-10 of the Big 12 in scoring and rebounding.

Ejim tallied 20 or more points in 13 games, with his season being highlighted by a 48-point, 18-rebound effort against TCU. His 48 points were a Big 12 single-game record. Ejim was 20-of-24 from the field in the game, tying or breaking nine Big 12 records against the Horned Frogs.

It was a performance for the ages. So was his entire season.

Iowa State Male Athlete of the Year Winners

1947  Ron Norman  Basketball
1948  Glen Brand   Wrestling
1949  Bob Peterson  Basketball
1950  Bill Weeks   Football
1951  Jim Doran   Football
1952  Mal Schmidt  Football & Swimming
1953  Jack Erickson  Football & Wrestling
1954  Max Burkett  Football
1955  Chuck Duncan  Basketball
1956  Gary Thompson  Baseball & Basketball
1957  Gary Thompson  Baseball & Basketball
1958  Frank Powell  Football & Wrestling
1959  Ron Gray   Wrestling
1960  Dwight Nichols  Football
1961  Tom Watkins  Football
1962  Dave Hoppman  Football
1963  Marv Straw   Basketball
1964  Gordon Hassman  Wrestling
1965  Tom Vaughn  Football
1966  Tom Peckham  Wrestling
1967  Don Smith   Basketball
1968  Don Smith   Basketball
1969  Dan Gable   Wrestling
1970   Dan Gable   Wrestling
1971  Otto Stowe   Football
1972  George Amundson Football
1973  Chris Taylor  Wrestling
1974  Doug Fitzjarrell  Gymnastics
1975  Al Nacin   Wrestling
1976  Pete Galea   Wrestling
1977  Wayne Stanley  Football
1978  Mark Trippel  Gymnastics
1979  Mike Land   Wrestling
1980   Mike Schwartz  Football
1981  Ron Galimore  Gymnastics
1982   John Quinn  Football 
1983   Nate Carr   Wrestling
1984   Bob Verbeeck  Track & Field
1985   Barry Stevens  Basketball
1986   Mark Diab   Gymnastics
1987  Stewart Carter  Wrestling
1988  Eric Hansen  Swimming
           Jeff Grayer   Basketball
1989   Tim Krieger  Wrestling
1990   Mike Busch   Baseball & Football
1991  John Nuttall  Cross Country and Track & Field
1992   Obinna Eregbu  Track & Field
1993  Jonah Koech  Track & Field
1994  Eric Akin   Wrestling
1995  Fred Hoiberg  Basketball
1996   Dmitry Drozdov  Track & Field and Cross Country
1997   Chris Bono   Wrestling
1998  Dwight Hinson  Wrestling 
1999  Cael Sanderson  Wrestling
2000   Marcus Fizer  Basketball
2001  Jamaal Tinsley   Basketball
           Cael Sanderson  Wrestling
2002  Cael Sanderson  Wrestling
2003  Seneca Wallace  Football
2004  Zach Roberson  Wrestling
           Jake Sullivan  Basketball
2005  Ellis Hobbs   Football
2006  Nate Gallick  Wrestling
2007  Trent Paulson  Wrestling
2008  Chris Baker  Golf
2009  Jake Varner  Wrestling
2010  Jake Varner  Wrestling
2011  Jon Reader  Wrestling
2012  Nate McCoy  Golf
2013  Scott Fernandez Golf

2014  Melvin Ejim Basketball



Cyclone Fanatic