Kane among Cousy Award Final 20

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications.

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State point guard DeAndre Kane has been named to the Bob Cousy Award Final 20, as released Monday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, the annual honor recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball.

Kane is averaging 15.9 points, 6.6 rebounds and 6.1 assists. He is one of just two players nationally averaging at least 15 points, six rebounds and six assists. Kane has scored in double figures in 20 games, including eight with 20 or more points. The senior is 10th in the Big 12 in scoring, first in assists, second in steals and 13th in rebounds.

Beginning Tuesday, Feb. 18 through Monday, March 10, fans from around the country will have the chance to vote for the top point guard in college basketball – fan voting begins on at 9 a.m. (CT). The current listing of 20 finalists will be narrowed down to five players in early March. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Hall of Famers and Sports Information Directors. The winner of the 2014 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Championship Monday in North Texas as part of NCAA Final Four Weekend.

Bob Cousy Award Candidates

Jahii Carson, Arizona State

Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga

Siyani Chambers, Harvard

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana

DeAndre Kane, Iowa State

Jason Brickman, Long Island

Keith Appling, Michigan State

Aaron Craft, Ohio State

Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State

Xavier Thames, San Diego State

Tyler Ennis, Syracuse

T.J. McConnell, Arizona

Justin Cobbs, California

Kyle Anderson, UCLA

Shabazz Napier, Connecticut

Chaz Williams, Massachusetts

Kendall Williams, New Mexico

Marcus Paige, North Carolina

Eric Atkins, Notre Dame

James Robinson, Pittsburgh


Cyclone Fanatic