McDonald named to Bednarik watch list

The following is a press release from Iowa State Athletic Communications.

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State defensive end Will McDonald IV has been named to the 2022 Chuck Bednarik Award preseason watch list. The award, presented by The Maxwell Football Club, is given annually to the outstanding defensive player in college football.

McDonald, a redshirt senior from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, enters the season as one of the nation’s best pass rushers with 29.0 career sacks, which is an ISU record. He earned First Team All-America honors last season and is a two-time First Team All-Big 12 selection. McDonald has forced nine fumbles and has 34.5 tackles for a loss in his career.

Semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced Nov. 1, while the three finalists for the award will be unveiled Nov. 22. The recipient of the award will be announced on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 8.

The Cyclones open the season Saturday, Sept. 3 against Southeast Missouri at MidAmerican Energy Field at Jack Trice Stadium.

Jared Stansbury


Jared a native of Clarinda, Iowa, started as the Cyclone Fanatic intern in August 2013, primarily working as a videographer until starting on the women’s basketball beat prior to the 2014-15 season. Upon earning his Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Iowa State in May 2016, Jared was hired as the site’s full-time staff writer, taking over as the primary day-to-day reporter on football and men’s basketball. He was elevated to the position of managing editor in January 2020. He is a regular contributor on 1460 KXNO in Des Moines and makes regular guest appearances on radio stations across the Midwest. Jared resides in Ankeny with his four-year-old puggle, Lolo.