Five Cyclones land on AP All-Big 12 team

Oct 12, 2019; Morgantown, WV, USA; Iowa State Cyclones offensive lineman Julian Good-Jones (51) lines up during the first quarter against the West Virginia Mountaineers at Mountaineer Field at Milan Puskar Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Ben Queen-USA TODAY Sports

A handful of Cyclones have another accolade to add to their 2019 season.

Led by unanimous first-team selection Charlie Kolar, five Iowa State players were named to the Associated Press‘ All-Big 12 team released on Friday. Kolar was joined on the first-team by offensive tackle Julian Good-Jones, solidifying both players as consensus first-teamers after both earned the honor from the coaches last week.

Quarterback Brock Purdy, running back Breece Hall and linebacker Marcel Spears were each pegged for the second-team. Purdy and Hall were second-team choices by the coaches, as well.

Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard was voted as the league’s player of the year by the panel of 20 sportswriters from across the Big 12 footprint. Baylor defensive lineman James Lynch was named the defensive player of the year while the Bears’ head coach, Matt Rhule, was named the coach of the year.

Jared Stansbury


Jared is in his seventh year covering Iowa State football and basketball for Cyclone Fanatic. He worked as the site's intern for three years while studying Journalism in Iowa State's Greenlee School of Journalism. He started as a full-time staff writer in May 2016. He took over as the site's managing editor in January 2020. Jared spent five falls covering Iowa high school football as a reporter for KMA Radio, 1460 KXNO and 1430 KASI.