Iowa State’s football program has placed players on All-American lists as far back as the 1919 season when offensive guard Dick Barber became the first Cyclone All-American. Since 1961, Iowa State has had 25 players named to All-American teams, including a pair of two-time honorees.

Six of the 25 players come from the running back spot headlined by Troy Davis (1995, 1996), Dwayne Crutchfield (1980), Blaise Bryant (1989) and Dexter Green (1978). Ten of the honorees played on one of the lines, seven of them on the offense, including NFL All-Pro Kelechi Osemele.

The rest of the group is made up of one quarterback (Georges Amundson, 1972), one safety (Barry Hill, 1974), two linebackers (Matt Blair, 1973; Jake Knott, 2012), three wide receivers (Eppie Barney, 1966; Luther Blue, 1976; Tracy Henderson, 1983 & 1984) and two tight ends (Mike Busch, 1989; E.J. Bibbs, 2014).

It has been three years since the Cyclones’ last All-American selection, but there are multiple players on Iowa State’s roster in 2017 with the potential to end the drought.

Jared Stansbury


Jared is in his seventh year covering Iowa State football and basketball for Cyclone Fanatic. He worked as the site's intern for three years while studying Journalism in Iowa State's Greenlee School of Journalism. He started as a full-time staff writer in May 2016. He took over as the site's managing editor in January 2020. Jared spent five falls covering Iowa high school football as a reporter for KMA Radio, 1460 KXNO and 1430 KASI.