Iowa State and Iowa did battle on the football field for the first in 1894 when the Cyclones came away with a 16-8 win in Iowa City. It was the Cyclones’ first of 22 wins in 64 games against their in-state rival.

Iowa State won the first three games of the series between the two schools before Iowa went on to win the next five. Interestingly, the Hawkeyes won three of those five games by the scores of 5-0 (1899), 6-0 (1901) and 8-0 (1905).

The series between the two teams has had several hiatuses, but the longest one lasted from 1934 until 1977.

The rebirth of the series was dominated by Iowa in the early years as the Hawkeyes won 15 straight from 1983 to 1997. The Cyclones broke the streak in 1998 with a 27-9 win in Iowa City.

The 1998 win was the first of five straight Iowa State wins in the series and started the trend towards the rivalry becoming more even in recent years. Iowa State has won 10 of the last 19 games between the two teams, but enters the 2017 matchup on a two game losing streak in the series.

Iowa State and Iowa will renew their annual rivalry on Sept. 9 when the Hawkeyes visit Jack Trice Stadium.

Jared Stansbury


Jared is in his fifth year covering Iowa State football and basketball for Cyclone Fanatic. He's the site's lead reporter for ISU recruiting. He worked as the site's intern for three years while studying Journalism in Iowa State's Greenlee School of Journalism. He started as the full-time staff writer in May 2016. Jared has spent five falls covering Iowa high school football as a reporter for KMA Radio, 1460 KXNO and 1430 KASI. He's the sideline reporter for KASI's Ames High football broadcasts and has appeared frequently on the station's baseball broadcasts during the summer.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.