Honorary captains announced for ISU spring game

Sep 12, 2015; Ames, IA, USA; Iowa State Cyclones new remodeled stadium is seen for the annual game against in-state rival the Iowa Hawkeyes at Jack Trice Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Reese Strickland-USA TODAY Sports

Last season, Iowa State football coach Matt Campbell began a new tradition with the first spring game of his tenure. He invited a handful of Cyclone legends back to be honorary captains for the game.

That tradition will continue this year and the list of captains includes some big-time names in Iowa State football history. George Amundson, David Archer, Reggie Hayward, Todd Blythe, Leonard Johnson and Lane Danielsen will be the honorary captains for Saturday’s game (1 p.m. at Jack Trice Stadium).

Amundson led Iowa State to its first bowl berth in 1971 and rushed for a then-record 1,260 yards and 15 touchdowns as a running back. He moved to quarterback in 1972 and became the first Cyclone to eclipse 2,000 yards of total offense. He was named a first-team All-American and beat out Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Rodgers for Big Eight Player of the Year.

Archer remains one of the best statistical quarterbacks in the history of Iowa State football. The former JUCO transfer left Iowa State in 1983 as the all-time leader in passing yards and completions. During his senior season, he set new records for completions, attempts, passing yards, total offense and passing touchdowns. He is currently eighth in career passing yards, seventh in career completions and career completion percentage and tied for eighth in career touchdown passes.

Hayward is in the top-10 all-time at Iowa State in sacks and tackles for loss. During his senior season in 2000, he collected 90 tackles, 10 of them for loss, and sacked the quarterback seven times. Hayward was drafted in the third round of the 2001 NFL Draft by the Denver Broncos. He played nine seasons in the NFL for the Broncos and Jacksonville Jaguars.

Blythe finished his career at Iowa State as the most prolific pass catcher in school history. He remains the Cyclones’ all-time leader in receiving yards, receptions and touchdown receptions. The Indianola native became the third Cyclone in school history to collect 1,000 receiving yards in a season during his sophomore campaign in 2005. He was a three-time Big 12 Honorable Mention selection and was first-team All-Big 12 in 2005.

Johnson finished his career at Iowa State with 247 tackles, eight tackles for loss and six interceptions. He started 43 of 50 games during his career in Ames. He’s 12th all-time in Big 12 history in kick return average. He’s spent the last five years in the NFL with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, New England Patriots, Carolina Panthers and Buffalo Bills. He enters the 2017 season as a member of the Bills and with 189 tackles and five interceptions in his career.

Danielsen is another of the top wide receivers in Iowa State history. His 1,073 receiving yards in 2002 remains the school record for a single-season. He’s second all-time in career receiving yards and third in career receptions.

Jared Stansbury


Jared a native of Clarinda, Iowa, started as the Cyclone Fanatic intern in August 2013, primarily working as a videographer until starting on the women’s basketball beat prior to the 2014-15 season. Upon earning his Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Iowa State in May 2016, Jared was hired as the site’s full-time staff writer, taking over as the primary day-to-day reporter on football and men’s basketball. He was elevated to the position of managing editor in January 2020. He is a regular contributor on 1460 KXNO in Des Moines and makes regular guest appearances on radio stations across the Midwest. Jared resides in Ankeny with his four-year-old puggle, Lolo.

Recent Posts