Women's Basketball

WBB: Bridgette Carleton named First Team All-Big 12

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

IRVING, Texas – The Iowa State women’s basketball team had three players honored when the 2016-17 All-Big 12 awards were announced with sophomore Bridget Carleton a unanimous selection to the All-Big 12 first team, while senior guard Seanna Johnson and redshirt junior Jadda Buckley earned honorable mention honors.

Carleton, a Chatham, Ontario, Canada native, was a first-team pick after averaging 15.6 points and 5.7 rebounds on the season. She ranks fifth in the Big 12 in scoring and 16th in rebounding. She also leads the nation at the free throw line, netting 93.8 percent, which is poised to break Iowa State’s school record of 91.9 percent, set by Brynn Williamson. Carleton also has team-highs in both blocks (30) and steals (33) on the season.

Johnson, a Brooklyn Park, Minn. native, earned honorable mention honors after ranking fourth in the Big 12 in points (15.7) and rebounds (8.3). Johnson sits in ninth in Iowa State history in career points (1,612) and third in rebounding (1,037). She is one of two Cyclones to reach 1,500 career points and over 1,000 rebounds.

Buckley, a Mason City, Iowa, native ranks third in the Big 12 in assists per game with 5.2. She also ranks third on the team with 14.2 points and started every game this season for the Cyclones. She tallied five or more assists in 20 games so far this season.

2016-17 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Awards

Coach of the Year: Karen Aston, Texas (5th season at Texas, 10th overall)

Player of the Year: Brooke McCarty, Texas, G, 5-4, Jr, League City, Texas

Defensive Player of the Year: Brianna Taylor, Texas, G, 5-9, Sr, Houston, Texas

Newcomer of the Year: Jessica Washington, Kansas, G, 5-8, Jr, Tulsa, Okla.

Freshman of the Year: Joyner Holmes, Texas, G/F, 6-3, Cedar Hill, Texas

Sixth Man Award: Lauren Cox, Baylor, F, 6-4, Fr, Flower Mound, Texas

All-Big 12 First Team (honors listed alphabetical by school)

Kalani Brown, Baylor C 6-7 So Slidell, La.
Alexis Jones, Baylor G 5-9 Sr Irving, Texas
Bridget Carleton** Iowa State G 6-1 So Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Breanna Lewis, K-State C 6-5 Sr Milwaukee, Wis.
Kindred Wesemann, K-State G 5-6 Sr Pleasant Hill, Mo.
Kaylee Jensen, Oklahoma State C 6-4 Jr Genoa, Nebraska
Ariel Atkins, Texas G 5-11 Jr Duncanville, Texas
Joyner Holmes, Texas G/F 6-3 Fr Cedar Hill, Texas
Brooke McCarty, Texas G 5-4 Jr League City, Texas
Tynice Martin, West Virginia G 5-10 So Atlanta, Ga.

All-Big 12 Second Team

Nina Davis, Baylor F 5-11 Sr Memphis, Tenn.
Alexis Prince, Baylor G 6-2 Sr Orlanda, Fla.
Jessica Washington, Kansas G 5-8 Jr Tulsa, Okla.
Peyton Little, Oklahoma G 5-11 Sr Abilene, Texas
Vionise Pierre, Louis Oklahoma C 6-4 Jr Lake Worth, Fla.

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention

Jadda Buckley (Iowa State), Seanna Johnson (Iowa State), Maddie Manning (Oklahoma), Gabbi Ortiz (Oklahoma), AJ Alix (TCU), Kelsey Lang (Texas), Recee’ Caldwell (Texas Tech), Ivonne CookTaylor (Texas Tech), Lanay Montgomery (West Virginia), Teana Muldrow (West Virginia)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team

Kalani Brown, Baylor C 6-7 So Slidell, La.
Alexis Prince, Baylor G 6-2 Sr Orlanda, Fla.
Breanna Lewis,  K-State C 6-5 Sr Milwaukee, Wis.
Ariel Atkins, Texas G 5-11 Jr Duncanville, Texas
Brianna Taylor, Texas G 5-9 Sr Houston, Texas
Lanay Montgomery, West Virginia C 6-5 Sr Pittsburgh, Pa.

Big 12 All-Freshman Team

Lauren Cox, Baylor F 6-4 Flower Mound, Texas
Eternati Willock, K-State F 6-4 Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Chelsea Dungee, Oklahoma G 5-11 Sapulpa, Okla.
Joyner Holmes, Texas G/F 6-3 Cedar Hill, Texas
Brittany Brewer, Texas Tech F 6-4 Abilene, Texas