• Fanatics -

    Thank you for your patience today and welcome to the newest version of Cyclone Fanatic!

    Most of the changes we have made are very simple, but will greatly improve your user experience while visiting the website.

    We have upgraded our forum software to speed things up. Our homepage is much cleaner and should be even more mobile friendly than before.

    We appreciate your loyalty and are committed to not only keeping Cyclone Fanatic in tip-top shape, but continuing to build this community for the next decade and beyond.

    We ask that if you are experiences any glitches to let us know in this thread . Will will be diligently working on the site all day.

    Thanks again.

    Chris Williams - Publisher
Olympic Sports

Cyclones Shutout Eastern Michigan, 39-0

YPSILANTI, Mich. – The No. 22 Iowa State wrestling team (9-4 overall, 1-2 Big 12) picked-up its first shutout of the 2012-13 season Sunday afternoon, defeating Eastern Michigan (7-13 overall, 1-4 MAC) 39-0.

The Cyclones scored bonus points in seven of their 10 matches, earning six major decisions and one fall. No. 15 Boaz Beard started the dual with an 11-1 major decision over EMU’s Khodar Hoballah. From there it was all Cyclones.

No. 7 Kyven Gadson provided the highlight of the dual yet again for the Cyclones, pinning EMU’s Nick Whitenburg at the 1:23 mark in the first period.

With the win, Gadson picked-up his 9th-straight victory dating back to the Midlands Championships on Dec. 30 in Evanston, Ill. The redshirt sophomore has recorded three-straight falls dating back to a 23-12 dual win over UNI on Feb. 8 in Ames.

Six Cyclones posted major decisions in both dual wins this weekend: Redshirt sophomore Ryak Finch, true freshman John Meeks, redshirt sophomore Luke Goettl, No. 19 redshirt sophomore Michael Moreno, No. 20 redshirt freshman Tanner Weatherman, and No. 15 redshirt junior Boaz Beard.

Iowa State was awarded a point for riding time in all 12 of those major decisions.

Iowa State will be back in action on March 8 in Stillwater, Okla. for the Big 12 Duals. The Cyclones will wrestle a dual against all three Big 12 opponents. The Big 12 Championships will follow the duals the next day on March 9.

Match-By-Match Results

125: Ryak Finch (ISU) maj. dec. Alexander Calandrino (EMU), 12-1 

133: John Meeks (ISU) maj. dec. Jake Byers (EMU), 10-2 

141: Luke Goettl (ISU) maj. dec. Seth Schaner (EMU), 12-2 

149: Max Mayfield (ISU) dec. Michael Shaw (EMU), 7-2  

157: Logan Molina (ISU) dec. Aaron Sulzer (EMU), 5-2  

165: No. 18 Michael Moreno (ISU) maj. dec. Jacob Davis (EMU), 13-4 

174: No. 16 Tanner Weatherman (ISU) maj. dec. Phil Joseph (EMU),12-4

184: No. 17 Boaz Beard (ISU) maj. dec. Khodor Hoballah (EMU), 11-1  

197: No. 7 Kyven Gadson (ISU) fall Nick Whitenburg (EMU), 1:37

285: Matt Gibson (ISU) dec. Chris Eggert (EMU), 3-0   


Cyclone Fanatic


Recent Posts