Hoiberg, White & others honored by Big 12

By Chris Williams, Publisher

The Iowa State men’s basketball program racked up quite a bit of hardware on Sunday when the Big 12 Conference released its 2012 season awards.

Second-year head coach Fred Hoiberg was named the Big 12’s Co-Coach of the Year along with Kansas’ Bill Self.

"I am humbled to be recognized as the co-coach of the year in a league with outstanding head coaches," said Hoiberg in a release. "This award is a credit to our players and coaching staff, who worked tirelessly throughout the season to improve each day. I can’t thank them enough for their hard work."

Iowa State was picked in the league’s preseason poll to finish eighth. The Cyclones went 12-6 in conference play to finish third.

Sophomore Royce White joined some select company as a First-Team All-Big 12 selection. The only other Iowa State players to have accomplished that feat are Dedric Willoughby (1997), Marcus Fizer (2000), Jamaal Tinsley (2001) and Craig Brackins (2009).

According to Iowa State’s press release, "White is the only player from a power-six conference to rank in the top-100 nationally in rebounding (44th-9.2) and assists (50th-5.2). Both his season rebounding (284) and assist (160) rank in Iowa State’s single-season top-20."

Senior Scott Christopherson earned third-team honors after averaging 12.6 points per game this season. Chris Allen and Melvin Ejim were both listed as league honorable mention.

CLICK HERE: To view the Big 12’s press release