Standout Cyclones receive Big 12 honors

Two members of the Iowa State football team received major honors from the Big 12 Conference today.

Strong safety David Sims was named the Big 12’s Defensive Newcomer of the year while linebacker Jesse Smith earned first-team honors on teams selected by the Big 12’s coaches.

Other Cyclones received honorable mention awards today. Those student-athletes include:

Mike Brandnter, Punter Kelechi Osemele, OL Reggie Stephens, OL Alexander Robinson, RB

Iowa State head football coach Paul Rhoads was listed as an honorable mention candidate for Coach of the Year. Texas coach Mack Brown won that award.

To read more about these honors, CLICK HERE to visit


Cyclone Fanatic