Heacock named semifinalist for Broyles Award

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State Athletic Communications.

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State defensive coordinator/safeties coach Jon Heacock is one of 15 semifinalists for the Broyles Award, given annually to college football’s top assistant coach.

Heacock was selected from approximately 1,500 assistant coaches representing 129 Division I programs. An 18-member selection committee of former head coaches, along with a committee representing the Football Writers Association of America, will select the five finalists who will travel to Little Rock, Ark., to attend the Broyles Award Banquet on Dec. 5th.

Heacock’s work with the Cyclone defense has played a huge role in Iowa State’s resurgence nationally. The Cyclones have beaten two AP Top-5 teams and appeared in the national rankings for the first time since 2005.

Iowa State currently ranks second in the Big 12 and 31stth nationally in scoring defense (21.1).

Implementing multiple formations, including a 3-4-4 front, ISU has been even better vs. Big 12 competition. The Cyclones are holding high-powered Big 12 offenses to just 18.8 points per game and 368.9 yards of total offense.

Heacock’s defenders have allowed just 55 combined points after intermission vs. Big 12 competition (eight games) and held seven of eight league opponents to at least 10 points below their season scoring average. Big 12 opponents are averaging a measly 1.26 points per offensive drive this season and only two conference teams (Oklahoma, Oklahoma State) have scored more than two touchdowns against the Cyclones.

The Cyclone defense has held two league opponents to zero offensive points (Kansas and TCU) and rank in the top-30 nationally in tackles for loss (83- 16th), interceptions (12- 27th) and turnovers (20- 25th).

Heacock is in second season as Iowa State’s defensive coordinator and in his 34th year of collegiate coaching.

Broyles Award Semifinalists
Alabama- Brian Daboll, OC/QB
Auburn- Kevin Steele, DC
Clemson- Mel Tucker, DC
Iowa State- Jon Heacock, DC/S
Miami- Manny Diaz, DC/S
Mississippi State- Todd Grantham, DC/LB
Notre Dame- Mike Elko, DC
Oklahoma- Bill Bedenbaugh, OC/OL
TCU- Chad Glasgow, DC
UCF- Troy Walters, OC
USC- Tee Martin, OC/WR
Washington- Pete Kwiatkowski, DC
Washington State- Alex Grinch, DC/DB
Wisconsin- Jim Leonhard, DC

Jared Stansbury


Jared a native of Clarinda, Iowa, started as the Cyclone Fanatic intern in August 2013, primarily working as a videographer until starting on the women’s basketball beat prior to the 2014-15 season. Upon earning his Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Iowa State in May 2016, Jared was hired as the site’s full-time staff writer, taking over as the primary day-to-day reporter on football and men’s basketball. He was elevated to the position of managing editor in January 2020. He is a regular contributor on 1460 KXNO in Des Moines and makes regular guest appearances on radio stations across the Midwest. Jared resides in Ankeny with his four-year-old puggle, Lolo.