Morris lands on Cousy Award Watch List

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State sophomore guard Monté Morris has been named to the 2015 Bob Cousy Award Watch List. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. Morris is one of 36 candidates on the list, which includes 13 freshmen and sophomores.

Morris, a Flint, Michigan native, returns after a stellar freshman season in which he averaged 6.8 points, 3.7 assists and 2.6 rebounds. He also broke the NCAA record with a 4.79 assist-to-turnover ratio, including 6.9 in conference play. Morris broke into the starting lineup in February and had just 17 turnovers in the 17 games he started.

Morris and the Cyclones face Viterbo in an exhibition game Friday before opening the season on Nov. 14 against Oakland.

2015 Bob Cousy Award Candidates

Player Name, School Name

Olivier Hanlan, Boston College

Quinn Cook, Duke University

Tyus Jones, Duke University

D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera, Georgetown University

Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga University

Siyani Chambers, Harvard University

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana University

Monte Morris, Iowa State University

Kenneth Smith, Louisiana Tech University

Cameron Payne, Murray State University

Chasson Randle, Stanford University

Will Cummings, Temple University

Alex Caruso, Texas A&M University

T.J. McConnell, University of Arizona

Ryan Boatright, University of Connecticut

Kasey Hill, University of Florida

Andrew Harrison, University of Kentucky

Tyler Ulis, University Kentucky

Terry Rozier, University of Louisville

Romelo Trimble, University of Maryland

Angel Rodriguez, University of Miami

Derrick Walton Jr., University of Michigan

Jarvis Summers, University of Mississippi

Marcus Paige, University of North Carolina

Pierria Henry, University of North Carolina (Charlotte)

Jordan Woodward, University of Oklahoma

EC Matthews, University of Rhode Island

Isaiah Taylor, University of Texas

Julius Brown, University of Toledo

Delon Wright, University of Utah

London Perrantes, University of Virginia

Keifer Sykes, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay

Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova University

Briante Weber, Virginia Commonwealth University

Juwan Staten, West Virginia University

Fred VanVleet, Wichita State University



Cyclone Fanatic