Basketball Blog: 2010 scholarship chart

By Chris Williams, Publisher Right now, I’m going to try my best to clear up any questions there are about scholarships and the Iowa State men’s basketball team. I’ve put together the following chart for the 2010-11 season, followed by some notes and analysis for you to keep in mind.


Melvin Ejim, F Jordan Railey, C Eric McKnight, F Antwon Oliver, G (RS) Calvin Godfrey, F (not yet signed)


Scott Christopherson, G DeMarcus Phillips, G


Charles Boozer, G Diante Garrett, G Jamie Vanderbeken, F LaRon Dendy, F

As that list stands, Iowa State has 11 scholarship players in line for next season.

Justin Hamilton and Chris Colvin will NOT be Cyclones next season. Hamilton will be honoring his commitment to LSU and Colvin’s status is still up in the air.

If I am Fred Hoiberg, I don’t go crazy here this spring signing kids who won’t ever see the floor. Leave yourself plenty of room to maneuver in the 2011 class and so on. Bubu Palo is a quality walk-on guard who could see some minutes next season and potentially earn a scholarship in the future.

If there is a guy out there who could help immediately and won’t leave in a year, go for it. If not, suit up the guys you have now and get to work on the talent rich 2011 and 2012 classes.