Why no FT's at the end?

Discussion in 'Mens Basketball' started by cmjh10, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. cmjh10

    cmjh10 Well-Known Member

    Dec 5, 2012
    14,433
    587
    113
    Iowa Falls
    Ratings:
    +1,516 / 105 / -0
    I am confused why Babb wasnt able to shoot FT's at the end of the game. My roommate and I were talking and when somebody fouls someobdy else on an inbounds play, they get to shoot if they are in the bonus. But Babb didnt because he didnt have possession? Still confused about this. If anybody can explain, I would greatly appreciate it.

    Oh well, on to Baylor. Im expecting a crazy atmosphere and a great game.
     
  2. xboxfever

    xboxfever Well-Known Member

    Nov 4, 2008
    8,734
    301
    83
    Male
    Ratings:
    +711 / 39 / -0
    The refs don't know the rules evidently.
     
  3. ISUFan22

    ISUFan22 Well-Known Member

    Apr 11, 2006
    33,810
    732
    113
    Male
    Healthcare IT Project Manager
    Denver, CO
    Ratings:
    +778 / 3 / -0
    On the Clyburn foul with no possession there were shots. On the foul against Babb there were none.

    Why?

    OSU was gagging on ref schlong before the game.
     
  4. CysRage

    CysRage Well-Known Member

    Oct 18, 2009
    9,695
    452
    83
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Ratings:
    +1,079 / 25 / -0
    The refs listened and responded to Travis Ford's ********. /thread
     
  5. spierceisu

    spierceisu Member

    Jan 28, 2007
    244
    14
    18
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Waukee
    Ratings:
    +54 / 4 / -0
    The announcers on TV said it was a player control foul, but I only thought that only applied to an offensive foul?
     
  6. cyfan964

    cyfan964 Well-Known Member

    Oct 22, 2006
    4,846
    222
    63
    4 blocks from the Jack
    Ratings:
    +277 / 1 / -0
    I'm guessing since they had the ball out of bounds, and we never gained possession, it was considered an offensive foul, much like a charge.
     
  7. CycloneKC

    CycloneKC Member

    Jan 13, 2010
    116
    2
    18
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I agree. They got to shoot 2 free throws when Clyburn came over back. Same play Nash came over Babbs back no free throws?

    Makes no sense
     
  8. drunkstepfather

    Sep 23, 2009
    118
    11
    18
    Company's Computer Guy
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    Per some Iowa Boys Basketball officials at the bar I was at, the Babb foul with no shots was due to ISU not having "team control of the ball". As in, Oklahoma State was inbounding, Babb steps in to steal but never actual had the ball in his control when fouled.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Cycsk

    Cycsk Well-Known Member

    Aug 17, 2009
    15,613
    508
    113
    Ratings:
    +1,316 / 61 / -0
    Babb didn't have possession of the ball, so it wasn't a back court player control foul with automatic 1&1 free throws.
     
  10. Cycsk

    Cycsk Well-Known Member

    Aug 17, 2009
    15,613
    508
    113
    Ratings:
    +1,316 / 61 / -0

    They were in the bonus, we weren't.
     
  11. kingcy

    kingcy Well-Known Member

    Sep 16, 2006
    20,611
    548
    113
    Male
    Farm
    Menlo, Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1,162 / 47 / -0
    I would rather take a shot at a 3 then a 1 and 1.
     
  12. CycloneKC

    CycloneKC Member

    Jan 13, 2010
    116
    2
    18
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    OSu didn't have ball yet when we shot it and Clyburn came over back.
     
  13. xboxfever

    xboxfever Well-Known Member

    Nov 4, 2008
    8,734
    301
    83
    Male
    Ratings:
    +711 / 39 / -0
    That foul put ISU in the bonus.
     
  14. Cycsk

    Cycsk Well-Known Member

    Aug 17, 2009
    15,613
    508
    113
    Ratings:
    +1,316 / 61 / -0
    My question is:

    If we didn't have control of the ball (and the foul happened before Babb even touched the ball), why didn't we get to take it out in front of our bench? The ball never got into play, so shouldn't the change of possession take place at the point where they inbounded the ball rather than where the foul occurred?
     
  15. Cycsk

    Cycsk Well-Known Member

    Aug 17, 2009
    15,613
    508
    113
    Ratings:
    +1,316 / 61 / -0
    So, the bonus would apply to the next foul, not that one. I wish it weren't so.
     
  16. CycloneJoe

    CycloneJoe Member

    Jan 12, 2009
    940
    24
    18
    Loser
    Carson City
    Ratings:
    +39 / 4 / -0
    Nobody has posses the ball after a shot is taken
     
  17. MJ271

    MJ271 Active Member

    Aug 9, 2012
    650
    34
    28
    Male
    Atkins
    Ratings:
    +43 / 2 / -0
    Sorry guys, but they actually did get the call right. Now referring to the call earlier, I don't know if that one was right
     
  18. CycloneKC

    CycloneKC Member

    Jan 13, 2010
    116
    2
    18
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    A foul is a foul. Stupid rule. Reward the team with free throws regardless
     
  19. hoopitup

    hoopitup Well-Known Member

    Feb 8, 2012
    1,401
    52
    48
    Teacher
    West Des Moines
    Ratings:
    +98 / 2 / -0
    You don't shoot FT on a player control foul. But, at the same time, in order for a player control foul to occur that has to be possession of the ball (I think). ON a team control fould, which is what this should have been, there are no FT either.

    So, the right call by the officials to not let Babb shoot FT, but poor job that they didn't know it in the first place. Poor job by the announcers too calling it player control. Still sucks for us, regardless.
     
  20. Cycsk

    Cycsk Well-Known Member

    Aug 17, 2009
    15,613
    508
    113
    Ratings:
    +1,316 / 61 / -0

    But, they were already in the bonus, so they get the free throws for that reason, not having the ball.

    Two different rules being applied.

    1. In the bonus, any foul results in free throws. Clyburn's foul.
    2. Player control fouls in the backcourt result in free throws, if you have possession (which Babb didn't), regardless of whether you are in the bonus.
     

Share This Page