what happened on the non td pass to lenz late in the game?

Discussion in 'Football' started by theyork, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. theyork

    theyork Well-Known Member

    Aug 6, 2009
    1,466
    42
    48
    Artist in residence
    hedgesville, wv
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    looked good from the upper deck, replay didn't show much. did lenz drop it? catch out of bounds? bobble it? even the cannon guy was certain it was a TD.
     
  2. CyFan61

    CyFan61 Well-Known Member

    Oct 25, 2010
    14,540
    259
    83
    Ratings:
    +264 / 0 / -0
    Lenz dropped the ball
     
  3. MissouriCyclone

    MissouriCyclone Well-Known Member

    Jul 24, 2011
    3,195
    87
    48
    Landscape Deisgner
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0 / -0
    Yeah dropped it after he landed.
     
  4. jbhtexas

    jbhtexas Well-Known Member

    Oct 20, 2006
    12,451
    602
    113
    Male
    Arlington, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,051 / 18 / -0
    The pass-catching rule seems inconsistent to me. On a running play, the instant the ball crosses the goal line, it is a TD. If the runner hits the ground and the ball pops out, it doesn't matter. It seems then, that once a receiver has the ball in his grasp, gets a foot down, and is not bobbling the ball, I think it should be a TD. Why should a runner be allowed to lose the ball after hitting the ground, but not a receiver?
     
  5. 2020cy

    2020cy Well-Known Member

    Aug 7, 2006
    4,806
    201
    63
    Ratings:
    +475 / 22 / -0
    Puzzling but that's the way they called it.
     
  6. 3TrueFans

    3TrueFans Well-Known Member

    Sep 10, 2009
    35,349
    3,025
    113
    Ames
    Ratings:
    +9,037 / 190 / -1
    A runner already has possession before reaching the end zone.
     
  7. Wesley

    Wesley Well-Known Member

    Apr 12, 2006
    70,964
    542
    113
    Envr Engr/Program Manager
    Omaha
    Ratings:
    +544 / 0 / -0
    We diid not pay the refs or replay people enough money or CF credits this year. Maybe, JP can fix it Chizlike style next year.
     
  8. ISUAgronomist

    ISUAgronomist Well-Known Member

    Nov 5, 2009
    23,027
    1,425
    113
    Ag Research
    Close Enough, IA
    Ratings:
    +2,164 / 35 / -0
    #8 ISUAgronomist, Nov 24, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
    Defensive back knocked it out of his hand. Not a simple drop.
     
  9. IowaStFB

    IowaStFB Member

    Aug 23, 2009
    83
    0
    6
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    It was a great play by the defender as he knocked it out right as Lenz was coming down. Not a drop at all.
     
  10. CyberJJJ

    CyberJJJ Well-Known Member

    Dec 19, 2006
    1,104
    114
    63
    Male
    Sales & Marketing
    Johnston, IA
    Ratings:
    +248 / 7 / -0
    He never fully had possession so it couldn't be a touchdown. Replay on TV made it look like an accurate call by the refs.
     
  11. ISUAgronomist

    ISUAgronomist Well-Known Member

    Nov 5, 2009
    23,027
    1,425
    113
    Ag Research
    Close Enough, IA
    Ratings:
    +2,164 / 35 / -0
    He had the ball in his hand. The DB knocked it out. It was the correct call.
     
  12. kilroy

    kilroy Well-Known Member

    Jun 10, 2010
    2,960
    58
    48
    Professional Land Surveyor
    hills to flat lands
    Ratings:
    +146 / 2 / -0
    Receiver has to establish possession and secure it to the ground like a normal pass for it to be complete.
     
  13. swarthmoreCY

    swarthmoreCY Well-Known Member

    Aug 9, 2008
    16,382
    320
    83
    Here nor there
    Ratings:
    +727 / 91 / -0
    Yep, because
    .
     
  14. LivntheCyLife

    LivntheCyLife Well-Known Member

    Nov 25, 2006
    1,088
    63
    48
    St. Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +137 / 2 / -0
    It's consistent with whether a pass would be ruled incomplete or a catch and fumble in the field of play. If the receiver had the ball in his grasp momentarily on the field and then it's knocked away, it's not a fumble, it's incomplete.
     

Share This Page