What clubs do I need

bringmagicback

Dec 3, 2009
CF Resident Dog Lover
I have been using friends golf clubs for a few years and decided that I will buy some of my own. I am not very good so prob dont need that great of clubs as I doubt it will make a difference. My questions are below, let me know anything else I might need to know.

What clubs are must haves?

What clubs are nice to have?

What clubs do I not need at all?

Cheaper to buy entire set or individual clubs?

jdoggivjc

Sep 27, 2006
Macomb, MI
I have been using friends golf clubs for a few years and decided that I will buy some of my own. I am not very good so prob dont need that great of clubs as I doubt it will make a difference. My questions are below, let me know anything else I might need to know.

What clubs are must haves?

What clubs are nice to have?

What clubs do I not need at all?

Cheaper to buy entire set or individual clubs?

Depends on how much you want to spend.

If you're looking to spend just a couple of hundred dollars to get you going, buy the complete set.

If you're looking to spend a little bit more money, you'll have to put the set together.

- buy a set of irons, which usually consists of the 3-9 irons as well as the pitching wedge (although TaylorMade sometimes does the 4-9 irons, pitching wedge, and and alternate wedge). Steel shafts are best.

- buy a driver, 3 wood, and 5 wood.

- buy a putter.

- if you want, you can replace your 3, 4, and 5 irons with 3, 4, and 5 hybrids. They swing like woods, but are more forgiving like irons.

Ping, TaylorMade, Callaway, and Nike are all good brands

heyguy85

Nov 9, 2007
Iowa
1. Driver, 3 and 5 wood. 3, 5, 7, 9 irons, pitching wedge, and putter
2. sand wedge, fairway wood/7 wood, lob wedge
3. fairway wood/7 wood, lob wedge
4. set is cheaper

tiberius

Sep 20, 2006
I would add foot wedge to the list. I use it a lot, works good around trees and getting back on the fairway.

CyFever

Dec 2, 2009
Phoenix, AZ