Please explain this to me...

Discussion in 'Football' started by agcy68, Oct 8, 2011.

  1. agcy68

    agcy68 Well-Known Member

    Feb 9, 2007
    1,201
    83
    48
    Male
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +166 / 51 / -0
    If the punting team touches the ball, isn't it down?
     
  2. jsmith86

    jsmith86 Well-Known Member

    Dec 5, 2006
    7,631
    247
    63
    Cedar Rapids
    Ratings:
    +249 / 0 / -0
    You forgot about the "Is ISU still in the game" rule.
     
  3. isuno1fan

    isuno1fan Well-Known Member

    Mar 30, 2006
    19,146
    622
    113
    Clive, Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1,046 / 187 / -0
    I thought so and we definitely touched it
     
  4. D UP Clones

    D UP Clones Active Member

    Oct 25, 2006
    1,442
    23
    38
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    NO it isn't

    and our stupid players should know it isn't down until you actually possess the ball for a second or down it.

    You can't just touch it for a second or hit it. Stupid play by isu
     
  5. JUKEBOX

    JUKEBOX Well-Known Member

    Oct 27, 2008
    7,198
    420
    83
    Ratings:
    +420 / 0 / -0
    Re: NO it isn't

    This.
     
  6. agcy68

    agcy68 Well-Known Member

    Feb 9, 2007
    1,201
    83
    48
    Male
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +166 / 51 / -0
    So then why don't we just bump it down to the 5 yard line every time we punt?
     
  7. tim_redd

    tim_redd Well-Known Member

    Mar 29, 2006
    9,165
    632
    113
    Ankeny
    Ratings:
    +1,618 / 40 / -0
    If the punting team just touches it, it's still a live ball. That was the correct call.
     
  8. Mr Janny

    Mr Janny Welcome to the Office of Secret Intelligence
    Staff Member Bookie

    Mar 27, 2006
    31,063
    2,144
    113
    Ratings:
    +5,565 / 165 / -0

    No, they have to have possession of it for it to be down. think of when players bat the ball away from the endzone trying to save a touchback. They have to do more than just touch it.
     
  9. JUKEBOX

    JUKEBOX Well-Known Member

    Oct 27, 2008
    7,198
    420
    83
    Ratings:
    +420 / 0 / -0
    Because it will automatically go back to where the person first bumped it.
     
  10. D UP Clones

    D UP Clones Active Member

    Oct 25, 2006
    1,442
    23
    38
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    The returning team can either take the ball there or take it from the return. You can't just keep hitting it. It goes back to first touch if they don't return it.
     
  11. Cytom5

    Cytom5 Well-Known Member

    Sep 3, 2010
    1,031
    37
    48
    Ames
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    Im so tired of everyone blaming the officials. we have consistently been a bad team = officials doing there job and calling penalties that we commit its been the same story all 5 weeks
     
  12. isuno1fan

    isuno1fan Well-Known Member

    Mar 30, 2006
    19,146
    622
    113
    Clive, Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1,046 / 187 / -0
    Ahhh...that makes sense
     

Share This Page