Penalty on Dicker's miss off the upright

  • Fanatics -

    Thank you for your patience today and welcome to the newest version of Cyclone Fanatic!

    Most of the changes we have made are very simple, but will greatly improve your user experience while visiting the website.

    We have upgraded our forum software to speed things up. Our homepage is much cleaner and should be even more mobile friendly than before.

    We appreciate your loyalty and are committed to not only keeping Cyclone Fanatic in tip-top shape, but continuing to build this community for the next decade and beyond.

    We ask that if you are experiences any glitches to let us know in this thread . Will will be diligently working on the site all day.

    Thanks again.

    Chris Williams - Publisher

stateofmind

Well-Known Member
Jul 16, 2007
5,201
2,255
113
Ankeny
Can helmet just not be inside the guard? Flag was thrown before Latrell hit the guard, not the snapper.
 

CyCloned

Well-Known Member
Oct 18, 2006
12,122
5,456
113
Robins, Iowa
looks pretty weak to me, but I have not read the rules. Would be interesting to see how the Longhorns lined up against ISU for the kicks. I noticed that gap on the last kick was like 8 yards.
 

AllInForISU

Well-Known Member
Nov 24, 2012
1,108
655
113
A formation penalty is one of the easiest to call and there isn't usually any arguing it (unless the refs confuse the numbers like they did with Kolar/Soehner this year). There also isn't a ton of gray area in this kind of formation penalty. Either you are in the framework of the center or you arent. He was.
 

AllInForISU

Well-Known Member
Nov 24, 2012
1,108
655
113
I wonder if that's one of those plays the coaches will submit to the Big XII for a formal review. I don't know the details of the rule, but that seems very suspicious
It is pretty clear. Below is the exact wording from the rulebook.

ARTICLE 14. a. If Team A is in a scrimmage kick formation at the snap, any Team B player within one yard of the line of scrimmage must be aligned completely outside the frame of the body of the snapper at the snap
 

AllInForISU

Well-Known Member
Nov 24, 2012
1,108
655
113
I believe it was last week where I saw the ref help a player in this situation instead of throwing the flag.

Guess you don't get that luxury against the Cows
Check the replay. Bankston shifts right before the snap, which wouldn't give the official the chance to help him out.
 
  • Like
Reactions: cstrunk

crawfy54

Well-Known Member
Dec 28, 2006
1,309
1,371
113
Ames, Iowa
It is pretty clear. Below is the exact wording from the rulebook.

ARTICLE 14. a. If Team A is in a scrimmage kick formation at the snap, any Team B player within one yard of the line of scrimmage must be aligned completely outside the frame of the body of the snapper at the snap
Thank you. The angle of camera isn't perfect, but it does appear that Latrell's left knee is lined up over the snappers left knee, at the least.
 

dirtyninety

Well-Known Member
Oct 6, 2012
6,794
3,253
113
I'm pretty sure I saw Texas violating the 2 yard restricted area along the sideline like every play.....It's ******** the referee didn't throw the flag every play. That and Herman didn't always have his mask on. He's probably guility of thought crimes too....he hasn't proved he isn't. So many travesties of justice not called by this referee crew....they shredded the Constitution.
 

Urbandale2013

Well-Known Member
Jan 28, 2018
2,344
2,607
113
26
Urbandale
It is pretty clear. Below is the exact wording from the rulebook.

ARTICLE 14. a. If Team A is in a scrimmage kick formation at the snap, any Team B player within one yard of the line of scrimmage must be aligned completely outside the frame of the body of the snapper at the snap
If that gets called then it should get called a lot more. I am not necessarily opposed to this call, but if that is going to get called it should get called a lot more.