Friday OT #2 - Acts of Service

Entropy

Oct 27, 2008
Cedar Rapids, IA
I am a volunteer TKD instructor at a non-profit school. Students pay, but we are cheap.

Have been helping the gf with an animal charity Critter Crusaders. They pay for medical treatment for various shelters/rescues all over Iowa. Rescues can't afford to drop a few grand on a surgery, so CC steps in. It's absolutely the lost causes that they save. What's impressive to me as a outsider is that CC has connections at Vet clinics all over Iowa, plus ISU, UW, Colo St. They know the best place to go depending on the injury, and they get great deals from different clinics and vets since it's a charity thing. They have pulled off some miracles!

Critters

Also, Angie, GREAT thread idea. Very positive and uplifting, we could all use some of that.
A former student of mine is heavily involved with Critter Crusaders.
We donate all of our used cans to them now.

Entropy

Oct 27, 2008
Cedar Rapids, IA
I was a flag football ref back in high school. Got a free membership to the Y as pay. After the 2nd week the other refs stopped showing up because of the BS from coaches and fans. This was 3rd grade football

Decided at that point that I'm never getting involved with youth sports again.

I have done some volunteer work for a local food bank. Plan on doing more once COVID settles down.
I have a similar story only substitute in 6th grade girls softball for the flag football.
After half a summer season of that, I gave it up.

CloniesForLife

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Apr 22, 2015
Strongly believe that a good education is the best way to lift up everyone in society so I donate monthly to the National Association for the Education of Homeless Children and Youth.

Also donate monthly to the ACLU for reasons that I won't talk about in this thread.

Coached high school (10th grade) bball and assisted the JV team one winter. It was fun and I had a solid experience but it's a lot of work when trying to work full time.