Question about the helium shortage

• After Iowa State won the Big 12, a Cyclone made a wonderful offer to We Will that now increases our match. Now all gifts up to $400,000 between now and the Final 4 will be matched. Please consider giving at We Will Collective.
    This notice can be dismissed using the upper right corner X button.

DuneFan

Nov 7, 2015
When I was a freshman at ISU, taking chemistry 101, the instructor demonstrated the explosiveness of hydrogen by lighting a small hydrogen balloon. The resulting bang adequately demonstrated why hydrogen is not a particularly good substitute for helium in party balloons. I have long wondered, could a mix of the two (say, 60/40 helium to hydrogen) be used?

VeloClone

Jan 19, 2010
Brooklyn Park, MN
When I was a freshman at ISU, taking chemistry 101, the instructor demonstrated the explosiveness of hydrogen by lighting a small hydrogen balloon. The resulting bang adequately demonstrated why hydrogen is not a particularly good substitute for helium in party balloons. I have long wondered, could a mix of the two (say, 60/40 helium to hydrogen) be used?
I'm no chemist, but since helium is a noble gas and doesn't readily interact with other gases, I don't think it would change the reactiveness of hydrogen - except for decreasing the power of the boom. ;)

NorthCyd

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 22, 2011
Are you sure the one with the bang wasnt an oxygen hydrogen mix balloon? I remember my chemistry professor showing hydrogen only and then a hydrogen oxygen mix. Hydrogen was kind of a quick flare up and the hydrogen oxygen mix blew the **** up.

brianhos

Staff member
Bookie
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Jun 1, 2006
Trenchtown

Helium will not bond with anything (which is why it is so important.) So you will just have a balloon of part explosive hydrogen and some helium.

ArgentCy

Jan 13, 2010