Leath leaves ISU for Auburn president job

Dandy

Future CF Mod
Oct 11, 2012
Western Iowa
He took the job, but let's be honest, the media drug him through the mud basically asking him to take his first available job with the whole plane thing....
south-park-s08e06c05-they-took-our-jobs-16x9.jpg

He terk der jerb.

Cycsk

Year-round tailgater
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 17, 2009
Everyone wishing Leath gone needs to awfully careful what they wish for.

I am not a Leath proponent by any means. My wife works on campus and he definitely has a negative reputation with the mid level employees/faculty. Generally he has been very good for the university during a historic time of growth. In many respects he stepped aside and let growth happen instead of "shaping" it and screwing up progress in the process.

With all the negative pub due to the plane scandal, hiring politicians for high level positions without proper vetting and rastetter land deals, there was little doubt he is looking to move on. And maybe it is time, but i'd take another Leath as his replacement. He's been a huge friend of the athletic department (bubu palo situation notwithstanding, but really what was he supposed to do? make a wrong move there and you're accused of being a mini baylor fast).

Historically ISU presidents have not put the emphasis on athletics. Geoffrey was good for athletics and Leath continued letting Jamie do his thing. This is the exception, not the rule in ISU history and has led to many decades of futility.

Keep in mind the replacement is selected by a board who's members are appointed by Brandstad, a graduate of Iowa and in the past has not been an ISU first kinda guy (more like Iowa first and just make sure they're #1 in this state)

Whomever is the hire will have a lot on there plate.

I pretty much agree with everything in this post.

• Agree
Reactions: ISC

Tornado man

Sep 16, 2007
Ames, IA