What's with all the Iowa State students/grads who aren't Cyclone fans?

BvK1126

Apr 12, 2007
Denver, CO
SouthernHawk's signature block and this recent post by DJK15:
When was the last time you guys sold out a FB game that wasn't against Iowa/Nebraska or filled with thousands of UNI Panther fans?

I'm half joking/half serious with this question, I'd actually like to know. I graduated from ISU in 06 and I don't recall too many sellouts.

...have got me wondering. It seems like there is a good handful of Iowa State students and alumni who aren't Cyclone fans. I guess I can kind of understand that maybe some of them grew up rooting for other teams before coming to Iowa State. However, if you enjoyed your experience at Iowa State, is there a reason why you wouldn't at least start rooting for your school's/alma mater's sports teams, even if they don't necessarily supplant some previous loyalty in the #1 spot? For me, it was a natural progression of things to become a Cyclone fan because my undergraduate experience at Iowa State was such a positive one, even though I hadn't followed Cyclone sports much before I arrived on campus.

Anyone care to explain the phenomenon? I'm not trying to call anyone out or start a flame throwing thread. I'm just honestly curious to hear why some people who are proud to be Iowa State students or alumni aren't at least somewhat interested in cheering on their school's athletic teams.

SplitIdentity

Mar 31, 2007
Minnesota
I'm cool with ISU winning. In fact, I rather enjoy seeing them do well.

The reason I kept my SH handle is basically because I came here for the debate - which I've gotten - and it's all been fun.

But like I've said, I'm proud to be a Stater, and although ISU isn't my #1 team, I'd rather them win than lose.

Cydar

Apr 2, 2006
When I went to ISU I knew some students who just weren't into sports.

Of course most of those people would not drink with us either.

cstrunk

Mar 21, 2006
Longview, TX