cy's house of trivia 2014

SoapyCy

Oct 10, 2012
grundy center
I've never done this before. Is it all Cyclones related questions or general trivia?

I'm really good at random trivia (too much Discovery/Science Channel) and want to do it this year. If anyone wants to do a team I'd be up for it.

MoreCowbell

Apr 23, 2009
Your best bet would probably be if someone is a person short and getting added onto a team that way. Priority goes to people who have had tables the past three years, then there's a waiting list. It sells out fast.

It's all random trivia- past categories have included movies, pop culture, music, history, geography, Iowa State, books, etc... it's a great time, we've had a table every year since the very beginning and plan on going every year they continue to have the event.

Buster28

Dec 3, 2011
Ames
Definitely a lot of fun! They added a handful of new tables last year to try and accommodate more people who wanted to participate. There was still a waiting list, I believe. I don't remember if they used to do a "free agent" type thing where solo people could be put on a list and if teams needed an extra person, they could be contacted. I might be thinking of something different entirely, but it's worth an inquiry when registration for it starts.

We have participated every year so far as well. It wouldn't be spring for our group without Cy's House!

mj4cy

Asst. Regional Manager
Staff member
Mar 28, 2006
Iowa
I had a blast last year. I thought I knew trivia, but found myself clueless on a lot of it. Maybe I was more into the beer/food though!

Farnsworth

Apr 11, 2006
Des Moines, IA
I haven't done trivia in quite a long time (before smartphones).

We were at a bar in Chicago a month ago, and they just happened to have trivia that night. Every single team was looking up answers on their smart phones. How is this stopped for an event like this? I've always been interested in Trivia, but smartphones take all the fun out of it.

AdamJGray

Administrator