Any refs out there (or anyone who wants to play ref)?

ISUguy

Unsurpassed Сasual Dating - Legitimate Girls
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Jun 27, 2006
Usa
I am a high school basketball coach who had two calls go against my team that I had never seen before. We are playing a team of high fliers tonight and they were trying to set up a back door lob for a dunk. My guy fouled the opponent running up for the lob (tripped him on accident). The refs gave the other team two shots saying the guy who was going up for the lob was in the act of shooting. He never touched the ball. I simply asked how he could be shooting without the ball? The refs conferred and stuck with their call.

About two minutes later, same thing. Ref immediately signaled two shots. He came over and told me he had to be consistent.

Anybody know if this is the right call or not? Seems to be you can't be shooting without the ball.

LindenCy

Kevin Dresser Fan Club
Staff member
Mar 19, 2006
Chicago, IL
I would think the refs have this wrong because the player fouled was a pass recipient who had not yet "shot" the ball, but I can see where there could be confusion. I would love for one of our resident refs to chime in.

ISUCubswin

Mar 3, 2011
My Playhouse
Its the same as we saw with Kane last night. It's in the act of a pass, not a shot. It's a foul, but not worthy of free throws.

Jordanj6502

Jan 9, 2010
Ames
Can't be a shooting foul unless in the act of shooting the ball. Can't be in the act of shooting the ball without the ball.

whirlybirds

Oct 25, 2007
Knoxville, IA
Was the other team in the bonus? Unless they were in the act of shooting or your team had 7 fouls against them, no free throws should of be awarded.

chadly82

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Sep 10, 2009
You absolutely got jobbed on that one....that is not a 2 shot foul in any book. That would have been worth getting teed up

ISUguy

Unsurpassed Сasual Dating - Legitimate Girls
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Jun 27, 2006
Usa