Lean Six Sigma

Phaedrus

Jan 13, 2008
Khorasan
Our company is putting all of us through "Yellow Belt" certification in Lean Six Sigma, and after completing the first module, I feel compelled to make two observations:

First, it is apparently very good information. While our company doesn't do any of these tasks very well, I have personally done something very similar within my own "universe". The idea of rationalizing processes for correcting systems and process errors is a terrific concept.

Second, could they have possibly made this stuff more difficult to understand? This is basically good information that is concealed within b.s. buzz-words, poorly structured sentences, and reinvented language. They have propietarized the language to the extent to where the curriculum is almost worthless.

I write training scenarios for a living, and I would fire people who wrote this poorly, if they worked for me.

I'm interested in if anyone else on the forum has been subjected to these courses and concepts. Thoughts?

Last edited:

jdoggivjc

Sep 27, 2006
Macomb, MI
Our office tends to do the green belt and black belt courses, and it's usually followed by co-workers attempting some awkward martial arts-esque gestures.

cycloneace55

Nov 22, 2006
Gardena, CA
As a trained Six Sigma Black Belt I for one hate the unneeded use of buzz words that make common sense logic confusing. Buzz words in business today has made listened to a report or presentation like listening to a foreign language. The concepts on Six Sigma are solid and when you boil it all down to actual english it is easy to understand, the trick is finding someone who will train that way.

iceclone

Nov 26, 2006
The buzz words are necessary to disguise the fact that everything is either common sense or 70+ year old statistical methods being repackaged for the umpteenth time. Buzz words sell books and "training."

HOTDON

Mar 24, 2006
Fort Dodge, IA