Kindergarten kids with cell phone?

Boorstin

May 13, 2010
Wyoming
It surprised me when my wife told me two kids in our sons kindergarten class had cell phones. Doesn't that seem too young / unnecessary?

3TrueFans

Just a Happily Married Man
Sep 10, 2009
Ames
How else are they supposed to contact their drug dealers?

Tracfones are basically disposable so if that's the case I suppose I could see it but only for calling certain numbers. My 1st grader still wouldn't have a need for a cell phone, at that age he's never off by himself without an adult anyways. In a few years though, maybe.

Reactions: DBQ

tyler24

Jun 19, 2006
I didn't have one til I was a freshman in high school. It's bad enough that people are glued to their phones in high school. Kids don't need a phone until they have a car Imo.

3TrueFans

Just a Happily Married Man
Sep 10, 2009
Ames
I didn't have one til I was a freshman in high school. It's bad enough that people are glued to their phones in high school. Kids don't need a phone until they have a car Imo.
Kids could be riding bikes to the pool or wherever long before they have a car, not a smartphone, but a phone to check in with their parents or whatever I could see when they're maybe 12+.

clone2011

Dec 11, 2007
Just because the technology wasn't around/wasn't as affordable when we were growing up, doesn't mean today's kids should be deprived of it. I didn't get a cell phone until I was 16 (2004), and I only got one because my brother (17 at the time) was in a single-car accident the day before and didn't have a phone to contact anyone on a pretty isolated stretch of highway. I was left at school waiting for my ride home for a couple hours, wondering where he was the entire time. We got the most basic of phones, something Nokia and the only game on it was Snake.