The WV lawsuits

UNIGuy4Cy

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Nov 11, 2009
Sorry I am not a lawyer but what do these lawsuits back and forth between WV and the Big East mean for WV coming to the Big 12?

CycloneDaddy

Sep 24, 2006
Johnston
What does it mean ... it means that WV is going to have to pay more then $5 million to be in the Big 12 next year.

fccy

Dec 31, 2008
Forest City
Realistically, I don't think WV will be here next year (at least not at a $5 million payout to the Big East; more $ could grease the wheels).

IIRC, WV is suing partially based on TCU leaving. My question would be, was TCU actually considered part of the Big East, or was their membership scheduled to start on July 1, 2012? The answer to that question, for me, makes a difference. My guess would be that TCU was not a current member, thus no 27-month wait.

I don't know enough about WV's other reasons (financial and so on), and haven't read the BE countersuit yet to have an opinion (when have you read that here before).

cyman05

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Dec 7, 2010
I would think that legally, if the Big East had a 27 month agreement, why should WV be able to break it?

Same for A&M/Mizzou with Big 12. If there was a 10 year agreement last summer, why should they be able to break it? The problem with the B12 agreement though was that each of the AD's took each other at their word instead of getting it in writing.

In the end, I think WV stays in Big East until 2014. If TV execs void the B12 contracts for only having 9 teams, then Mizzou/A&M/SEC gets sued up the wazzu for the differences...so I think Mizzou stays until 2014.

Who knows though.

brianhos

Staff member
Bookie
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Jun 1, 2006
Trenchtown
I would think that legally, if the Big East had a 27 month agreement, why should WV be able to break it?