Financial Advise

Benny34

Nov 29, 2007
I know alot of people are in the same boat as me here. I have student loans to pay off somewhere in the neighborhood of 5.5% APR while my mortgage rate is in the neighborhood of 4.8% APR.

Should I pay off my student loans first with the higher rate or should I pay off my mortgage with that money going into something I will own? I am no expert so I thought I would seek some advice. TIA.

jtdoyle1

Apr 11, 2006
Ankeny, IA
Also consider that your mortgage interest is tax deductible, so it gives you even more reason to pay off the student loan principal first.

CySmitty

Jan 3, 2008
Longmont, CO
That kind of an interesting question. I would literally calculate them both using excel and see which one makes more sense.

When my wife and I looked into it the big advantage to not paying down student loans is that they are above the line deductible (good for use but depends on you situation).

The nice thing about paying off student loans early is they may rebate some of the origination fee (if there was one).

Lots of variables to take into account. Good Luck!

TykeClone

Burgermeister!
Oct 18, 2006
Also consider that your mortgage interest is tax deductible, so it gives you even more reason to pay off the student loan principal first.

Student loan interest is tax deductible on the front page of the 1040 - you don't have to itemize to take that deduction like you do with the mortgage.

A better question to ask is which of the loans has a variable or adjustable rate...

ruxCYtable

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 29, 2007
Colorado
I know alot of people are in the same boat as me here. I have student loans to pay off somewhere in the neighborhood of 5.5% APR while my mortgage rate is in the neighborhood of 4.8% APR.

Should I pay off my student loans first with the higher rate or should I pay off my mortgage with that money going into something I will own? I am no expert so I thought I would seek some advice. TIA.