U23 Nationals and U20 World Team Trials Preview

Photo Courtesy of Jacqueline Cordova/Cyclone Fanatic

The following is a press release from Iowa State Athletics

AMES, Iowa – Six Cyclone wrestlers will compete at the 2024 U23 Nationals and U20 World Team Trials this weekend in Geneva, Ohio.

Ethan Perryman (57 kg), Jacob Frost (65 kg), Zach Redding (65 kg) and Paniro Johnson (70 kg) will wrestle in the U23 freestyle age group while MJ Gaitan (79 kg) and Tate Naaktgeboren (86 kg) will compete in the U20 freestyle portion.

Wrestling is set to begin Saturday at 8:30 a.m. (CT) and can be streamed live on FloWrestling.

The winners of this tournament at each respective weight class will go on to represent Team USA at the U20 World Championships and U23 World Championships.

Iowa State Tournament Entries
U20 Freestyle
79 kg – MJ Gaitan
86 kg – Tate Naaktgeboren

U23 Freestyle
57 kg – Ethan Perryman
65 kg – Jacob Frost, Zach Redding
70 kg – Paniro Johnson

Freestyle Schedule (All Times Central)

Saturday, June 1st
8:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. U20 Freestyle – Challenge Tournament – Preliminaries, Quarterfinals, Semifinals, Challenge Finals & Consolations
8:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. U23 Freestyle – Preliminaries and Consolations
3 p.m. – 6 p.m. U20 Freestyle – All Medal Matches, and Best 2 out of 3 Finals
3 p.m. – 8 p.m. U23 Freestyle – Preliminaries, and Consolations

Sunday, June 2nd
9 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. U23 Freestyle – Quarterfinals, Semifinals, Consolations, All Medal Matches, and Best 2 out of 3 Finals

Jacqueline Cordova


Jacqueline graduated from Iowa State University with a degree in Journalism and Mass Communications. She has been fortunate enough to have interned for Cyclone Fanatic for 2 and a half years before being promoted to stay on. She currently wears a lot of hats at Cyclone Fanatic: Social Media Director, Iowa State Wrestling beat reporter, and staff photographer. Jacqueline loves reading and watching trash reality TV shows when she's not watching sports. One of her favorite accomplishments is having interned for the Minnesota Vikings and during Super Bowl LII.