Brockington and Hunter each earn All-Big 12 honors

Iowa State Cyclones guard Izaiah Brockington (1) celebrates with Iowa State Cyclones guard Tyrese Hunter (11) after making a three-point shot against Oklahoma during the second half at Hilton Coliseum, Saturday, Feb. 19, 2022, in Ames, Iowa.

The following is a press release from Iowa State Athletic Communications.

AMES, Iowa – Izaiah Brockington was named Big 12 Newcomer of the Year and Tyrese Hunter was recognized as Big 12 Freshman of the Year in a vote of the league’s coaches, as announced Sunday by the Big 12 Conference.

Brockington, a 6-4 senior guard from Philadelphia, was named to the All-Big 12 First Team and Big 12 All-Newcomer Team in addition to being named the league’s top newcomer.

Brockington, who finished the regular season third in the Big 12 in scoring (17.6) and rebounding (7.2) is the 10th Cyclone to be named conference newcomer of the year and the first since Deonte Burton in 2016.

A transfer from Penn State, Brockington recorded seven double-doubles and posted 13 straight double-figure scoring efforts in Big 12 play, including a 35-point outburst and game-winning shot against West Virginia.

Brockington shot a career-best 47 percent from the field and 39 percent behind the arc.

Hunter, a 6-0 freshman point guard from Racine, Wisconsin, is just the sixth Cyclone rookie to take home freshman of the year honors and the first since Curtis Stinson in 2004. He was also named to the Big 12 All-Freshman Team.

Hunter averaged 10.8 points and 5.0 assists, breaking the ISU freshman record with 155 assists while also posting 59 steals. On Saturday at Baylor, Hunter dished out 13 assists, the second-most by any Cyclone freshman.

Hunter reached double digits in 18 games, scoring a career-best 22 points at West Virginia and topping 20 points twice against conference competition.

The Cyclone duo played a significant role in helping the team to the biggest turnaround in school and Big 12 history. ISU enters the 2022 Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship with a 20-11 record. The Cyclones will face Texas Tech Thursday at 8:30 p.m.

Player of the Year: Ochai Agbaji, Kansas

Freshman of the Year: Tyrese Hunter, Iowa State

Newcomer of the Year: Izaiah Brockington, Iowa State

Defensive Player of the Year: Jonathan Tchamwa Tchatchoua, Baylor; Moussa Cisse, Oklahoma State; Gabe Osabuohien, West Virginia

Sixth Man Award: Jeremy Sochan, Baylor

Most Improved Player: Nijel Pack, Kansas State

Coach of the Year: Scott Drew, Baylor

All-Big 12 First Team

James Akinjo, Baylor

Izaiah Brockington, Iowa State

Ochai Agbaji, Kansas

Nijel Pack, Kansas State

Bryson Williams, Texas Tech

All-Big 12 Second Team

Adam Flagler, Baylor

Christian Braun, Kansas

Mike Miles, TCU

Timmy Allen, Texas

Taz Sherman, West Virginia

All-Big 12 Third Team

David McCormack, Kansas

Jalen Wilson, Kansas

Mark Smith, Kansas State

Avery Anderson III, Oklahoma State

Marcus Carr, Texas

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention

Matthew Mayer (Baylor), Jeremy Sochan (Baylor), Dajuan Harris (Kansas), Markquis Nowell (Kansas State), Umoja Gibson (Oklahoma), Jordan Goldwire (Oklahoma), Tanner Groves (Oklahoma), Elijah Harkless (Oklahoma), Damion Baugh (TCU), Emanuel Miller (TCU), Christian Bishop (Texas), Andrew Jones (Texas), Courtney Ramey (Texas), Adonis Arms (Texas Tech), Kevin McCullar (Texas Tech), Kevin Obanor (Texas Tech), Marcus Santos-Silva (Texas Tech), Sean McNeil (West Virginia).

Big 12 All-Defensive Team

Jonathan Tchamwa Tchatchoua, Baylor

Dajuan Harris, Kansas

Markquis Nowell, Kansas State

Moussa Cisse, Oklahoma State

Gabe Osabuohien, West Virginia

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team

James Akinjo, Baylor

Izaiah Brockington, Iowa State

Mark Smith, Kansas State

Timmy Allen, Texas

Bryson Williams, Texas Tech

Big 12 All-Freshman Team

Jeremy Sochan, Baylor

Kendall Brown, Baylor

KJ Adams, Kansas

Tyrese Hunter, Iowa State

C.J. Noland, Oklahoma

Jared Stansbury


Jared a native of Clarinda, Iowa, started as the Cyclone Fanatic intern in August 2013, primarily working as a videographer until starting on the women’s basketball beat prior to the 2014-15 season. Upon earning his Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Iowa State in May 2016, Jared was hired as the site’s full-time staff writer, taking over as the primary day-to-day reporter on football and men’s basketball. He was elevated to the position of managing editor in January 2020. He is a regular contributor on 1460 KXNO in Des Moines and makes regular guest appearances on radio stations across the Midwest. Jared resides in Ankeny with his four-year-old puggle, Lolo.