WRESTLING: Four Cyclones earn titles at Daktronics Open

The following is a press release from Iowa State Athletic Communications

Nov. 21, 2021

Four Cyclones Claim Titles at Daktronics Open

BROOKINGS, S.D. – The Iowa State wrestling team officially opened the 2021-22 season Sunday, taking home four titles at the Daktronics Open.

Eight Cyclones advanced to the finals, with Kysen Terukina (125), Zach Redding (141), Jarrett Degen (149) and David Carr (157) taking home the title. Corey Cabanban (125), Joel Devine (174), Marcus Coleman (184) and Sam Schuyler (285) all finished second. Five other Cyclones finished in the top five.

Finals Matches

It was an all Cyclones championship, as Terukina and Cabanban each knocked off nationally ranked opponents to reach the finals. In the semifinals, Cabanban beat UNI’s sixth-ranked Brody Teske 4-3, while Terukina defeated Nebraska’s 17th-ranked Liam Cronin 4-3 to reach the finals. In the championship match, Terukina used a takedown with :05 remaining to defeat Cabanban 3-1.

At 141 pounds, 23rd-ranked Redding used a first period takedown and a third period reversal to take a 4-0 lead en route to a 6-3 win over Minnesota’s Marcos Polanco. Degen wasted no time jumping out to a lead in the 149-pound championship, as he turned a takedown in the first period into a four-point nearfall. Degen added two escapes and a takedown, along with a point for riding time, in the third period for a 13-2 major decision over Nebraska’s Jevon Parrish.

Top-ranked Carr recorded three technical falls to reach the finals, where he met Nebraska’s 16th-ranked Peyton Robb. Entering the third period, Robb led 3-1 and extended that lead to 5-2 with a takedown with :54 left in the match. Carr was able to escape with :43 remaining and record a takedown in the final minutes to force overtime. Carr came up with a takedown :31 into the sudden victory period for the 7-5 win.

At 174 pounds, Devine dropped a 3-2 decision to third-ranked Mikey Labriola of Nebraska. With the match tied at 1-1, Labriola recorded a takedown with 1:31 remaining for the victory. Coleman reached the finals at 184 pounds with a 5-3 win over 10th-ranked Taylor Venz of Nebraska. In the championship match, 19th-ranked Coleman faced fourth-ranked Parker Keckeisen of UNI. An early escape and takedown in the second period gave Keckeisen a 5-1 lead. Coleman battled back with an escape in the second period and opened the third period with an escape and a point for a technical violation before Keckeisen locked up the title with a takedown with :16 left for the 8-4 victory. The final Cyclone in the championship round was 26th-ranked Schuyler at 285 pounds, as he dropped a 9-5 decision to 13th-ranked Christian Lance of Nebraska. Lance recorded a takedown in all three periods for the victory.

Next Up

The Cyclones open the dual meet portion of the schedule on Saturday, Nov. 27 against Army and Cal Baptist. The first dual against Army will start at 1 p.m. at Hilton Coliseum, with the match against Cal Baptist slated for immediately after the conclusion of the first match. The matches will be available on Big 12 Now on ESPN+.

Iowa State Placewinners:

125 – Kysen Terukina, 1st
125 – Corey Cabanban, 2nd
133 – Ramazan Attasauov, 4th
141 – Zach Redding, 1st
149 – Jarrett Degen, 1st
157 – David Carr, 1st
165 – Grant Stotts, 3rd
165 – Austin Kraisser, 4th
174 – Joel Devine, 2nd
184 – Marcus Coleman, 2nd
184 – Cody Fisher*, 5th
197 – Yonger Bastida, 3rd
285 – Sam Schuyler, 2nd
*-Wrestling Unattached

Jacqueline Cordova


Jacqueline graduated from Iowa State University with a degree in Journalism and Mass Communications. She has been fortunate enough to have interned for Cyclone Fanatic for 2 and a half years before being promoted to stay on. She currently wears a lot of hats at Cyclone Fanatic: Social Media Director, Iowa State Wrestling beat reporter, and staff photographer. Jacqueline loves reading and watching trash reality TV shows when she's not watching sports. One of her favorite accomplishments is having interned for the Minnesota Vikings and during Super Bowl LII.