• Fanatics -

    Thank you for your patience today and welcome to the newest version of Cyclone Fanatic!

    Most of the changes we have made are very simple, but will greatly improve your user experience while visiting the website.

    We have upgraded our forum software to speed things up. Our homepage is much cleaner and should be even more mobile friendly than before.

    We appreciate your loyalty and are committed to not only keeping Cyclone Fanatic in tip-top shape, but continuing to build this community for the next decade and beyond.

    We ask that if you are experiences any glitches to let us know in this thread . Will will be diligently working on the site all day.

    Thanks again.

    Chris Williams - Publisher

Several Cyclones and Matt Campbell garner ESPN All-Big 12 honors

Oct 28, 2017; Ames, IA, USA; Iowa State Cyclones head coach Matt Campbell talks to his team before the TCU Horned Frogs at Jack Trice Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Reese Strickland-USA TODAY Sports

AMES — Another day, another Big 12 Coach of the Year award for ISU’s Matt Campbell.

This time, it’s ESPN doling out the postseason plaudits — and several Cyclones landed first team all-Big 12 honors as well.

David Montgomery (RB) and Allen Lazard (WR) are first team selections on offense. Brian Peavy (CB) and Joel Lanning (all purpose) earned first team status on defense.

Here’s a link to ESPN’s full list of honorees.


Rob Gray


Rob, an Ames native, joined Cyclone Fanatic in August, 2014 after nearly a decade and a half of working at Iowa's two largest newspapers. He spent 10 years at the Des Moines Register and, after a brief stint in public relations, joined the Cedar Rapids Gazette as an Iowa State correspondent three years ago. Rob specializes in feature stories for CF.

Recent Posts