Morris, Niang on Robertson Award Watch List

The following is a news release from ISU Athletics Communications: 

AMES – Iowa State’s Monté Morris and Georges Niang are among 20 players named to the Oscar Robertson Trophy Watch List, announced today by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Iowa State is the only school with two players on the list.

Morris is averaging 15.2 points, 6.8 assists and 4.0 rebounds in his junior season. He has twice been named Big 12 Player of the Week and is averaging 19 points and shooting 62.7 percent from the field in the last five games.

Niang is leading the Cyclones with 19.3 points per game to go along with 6.4 rebounds and 3.2 assists. The senior has been in double figures for all 19 games this season and 28 games in a row dating back to last season. He has scored 20 or more points eight times this season, while going over 30 points twice.


Oscar Robertson Trophy Watch List

Grayson Allen, Duke

Kris Dunn, Providence

Kahlil Felder, Oakland

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Demetrius Jackson, Notre Dame

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Jalen Jones, Texas A&M

Sheldon McClellan, Miami

Monté Morris, Iowa State

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Gary Payton II, Oregon State

Wayne Selden Jr., Kansas

Ben Simmons, LSU

Melo Trimble, Maryland

Tyler Ullis, Kentucky

Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State

Fred VanVleet, Wichita State

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga


Cyclone Fanatic