Olympic Sports

WRESTLING: Iowa State sends seven to NCAA Wrestling

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

AMES, Iowa – The NCAA announced this afternoon the fields for the 2015 NCAA Wrestling Championships in St. Louis. Seven Cyclones earned a chance to compete for a national title in Earl Hall (3 seed), Dante Rodriguez (unseeded), Gabe Moreno (9 seed), Michael Moreno (2 seed), Tanner Weatherman (13 seed), Lelund Weatherspoon (unseeded) and Kyven Gadson (3 seed).

Since the Big 12 Championship is not an automatic qualifier, all the spots occupied by Iowa State wrestlers are at-large bids.

Rodriguez, a true freshman, is the only Iowa State grappler making his first appearance at the national championships. Hall, G. Moreno, Weatherman and Weatherspoon were all qualifiers in 2014. M. Moreno and Gadson are making their third appearance at the NCAAs.

A trio of Cyclones will be looking build on All-American performances last season. Hall, Moreno and Gadson all earned spots on the podium in 2014.

With a top-8 finish in St. Louis, Moreno and Gadson would become the 45th and 46th athletes in ISU history to earn All America honors in three or more seasons. Moreno finished fifth at the 2014 NCAA Championships, while Gadson finished fourth, respectively.

The national championships will take place March 19-21 in the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, MO. 



Cyclone Fanatic


Recent Posts