• Fanatics -

    Thank you for your patience today and welcome to the newest version of Cyclone Fanatic!

    Most of the changes we have made are very simple, but will greatly improve your user experience while visiting the website.

    We have upgraded our forum software to speed things up. Our homepage is much cleaner and should be even more mobile friendly than before.

    We appreciate your loyalty and are committed to not only keeping Cyclone Fanatic in tip-top shape, but continuing to build this community for the next decade and beyond.

    We ask that if you are experiences any glitches to let us know in this thread . Will will be diligently working on the site all day.

    Thanks again.

    Chris Williams - Publisher

Niang is a Wooden Award finalist

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

LOS ANGELES – Iowa State junior Georges Niang is one of 15 players on the final ballot of the John R. Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s. The 15 players selected are frontrunners for college basketball’s most prestigious honor. All balloted players have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA.

Voting begins March 16, and voters, consisting of nearly 1,000 members of the national college basketball media, may take into consideration the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament.

Niang is one of 16 players nationally averaging 15 points, five rebounds and three assists. He’s the only junior in the country with 1,400 points, 450 rebounds and 275 assists in his career.

Niang and Oklahoma’s Buddy Hield represent the Big 12 on the 15-player list.

2014-15 John R. Wooden Award Ballot

Ron Baker, Wichita State

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky

Rakeem Christmas, Syracuse

Jerian Grant, Notre Dame

Tyler Haws, BYU

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Jahlil Okafor, Duke

Bobby Portis, Arkansas

D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State

Seth Tuttle, Northern Iowa

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga

Delon Wright, Utah


Cyclone Fanatic