E.J. Bibbs is on the Mackey Award Watch List

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State senior tight end E.J. Bibbs has been named to the preseason watch list for the 2014 Mackey Award.

The Mackey Award, named after Pro Football Hall-of-Fame tight end John Mackey, is given annually to the nation’s most outstanding tight end.

Bibbs, a native of Chicago, Ill., was named second-team All-Big 12 by both the Big 12 Coaches and Associated Press in 2013 after catching 39 passes for 462 yards. His 39 snares ranked as the second-best single-season total by a Cyclone tight end in ISU history. It also tied for 13th among all FBS tight ends in 2013.

Bibbs, who had two TD catches last season, was the only Cyclone with multiple catches in all 12 games a year ago.

Bibbs is a preseason first-team All-Big 12 selection by Sporting News, Lindy’s Athlon’s and Phil Steele.

2014 Mackey Award Watch List

Rory Anderson- South Carolina
Kennard Backman- UAB
Blake Bell- Oklahoma
E.J. Bibbs- Iowa State
Pharaoh Brown- Oregon
Kyle Carter- Penn State
Kivon Cartwright- Colorado State
Gerald Christian- Louisville
Braxton Deaver- Duke
Thomas Duarte- UCLA
Luke Eakes- Northern Illinois
Evan Engram- Mississippi
Billy Freeman- San Jose State
Darion Griswold- Arkansas State
Connor Hamlett- Oregon State
Hunter Henry- Arkansas
Mitchell Henry- Western Kentucky
Jeff Heuerman- Ohio State
Wyatt Houston- Utah State
O.J. Howard- Alabama
Jesse James- Penn State
Malcolm Johnson- Mississippi State
Ben Koyack- Notre Dame
Tyler Kroft- Rutgers
Devin Mahina- BYU
Taylor McNamara- Oklahoma
Jimmy Mundine- Kansas
Johnny Mundt- Oregon
De’Marieya Nelson- Arizona State
Nick O’Leary- Florida State
Casey Pierce- Kent State
Sean Price- USF
Jay Rome- Georgia
Tyreese Russell- Eastern Michigan
Wes Saxton- South Alabama
Randall Telfer- USC
Eric Tomlinson- UTEP
C.J. Uzomah- Auburn

Recent Posts