A clean sweep for Melvin Ejim, the AP Player of the Year

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State senior Melvin Ejim has been named The Associated Press’ Big 12 Player of the Year. The award comes a day after Ejim took home the same honor from the league’s coaches.

Ejim is second in the conference in scoring (18.2 ppg) and rebounding (8.6 rpg) while also finishing third in field goal percentage (51.3). Ejim scored in double figures in 25 of the 28 games he has played in this season. He has recorded nine double-doubles this season.

Ejim was joined on the AP All-Big 12 First Team by his teammate DeAndre Kane. ISU sophomore Georges Niang received honorable mention.

Kane averaged 17.1 points, 6.7 rebounds and 5.9 assists per game after transferring from Marshall this season. He has scored 20 or more points in 13 games. 

Niang averaged 16.2 points, 4.3 rebounds and 3.6 assists for the Cyclones as a sophomore. 

AP First Team

Melvin Ejim, Iowa State**
DeAndre Kane, Iowa State
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Juwan Staten, West VirginiaAndrew Wiggins, Kansas**

AP Second Team

Markel Brown, Oklahoma State
Joel Embiid, Kansas
Marcus Foster, Kansas State
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Cory Jefferson, Baylor

Honorable Mention

Kyan Anderson, TCU; Bryce Cherry, Baylor; Cameron Clark, Oklahoma; Jaye Crockett, Texas Tech; Perry Ellis, Kansas; Eron Harris, West Virginia; Jonathan Holmes, Texas; Georges Niang, Iowa State; Cameron Ridley, Texas; Ryan Spangler, Oklahoma; Isaiah Taylor, Texas.

Coach of the Year: Lon Kruger, Oklahoma

Player of the Year: Melvin Ejim, Iowa State

Freshman of the Year: Andrew Wiggins, Kansas


Cyclone Fanatic