• Fanatics -

    Thank you for your patience today and welcome to the newest version of Cyclone Fanatic!

    Most of the changes we have made are very simple, but will greatly improve your user experience while visiting the website.

    We have upgraded our forum software to speed things up. Our homepage is much cleaner and should be even more mobile friendly than before.

    We appreciate your loyalty and are committed to not only keeping Cyclone Fanatic in tip-top shape, but continuing to build this community for the next decade and beyond.

    We ask that if you are experiences any glitches to let us know in this thread . Will will be diligently working on the site all day.

    Thanks again.

    Chris Williams - Publisher
Olympic Sports

Wrestling: Cyclones lose to No. 9 Cowboys, 29-3

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

STILLWATER, Okla. – The Iowa State wrestling team (7-3 overall, 1-2 Big 12) suffered its first road loss of the season 29-3 to No. 9 Oklahoma State (5-4 overall, 2-1 Big 12) Friday night. The Cowboys won nine of the ten bouts en route to their seventh straight dual win over the Cyclones.

All-American Kyven Gadson picked up the lone win of the night for ISU. Gadson defeated OSU’s Kyle Crutchmer 3-1 after scoring a takedown late into the final period. Gadson has now won 24-straight dual matches. The Waterloo, Iowa, native pushed his season record to 17-2 overall and 9-0 in dual competition with the win this evening.

A top-10 matchup kicked off the evening, as No. 10 Tanner Weatherman was pitted against No. 2 Chris Perry at 174 pounds. Weatherman scored a takedown in the final 10 seconds to tie the match 4-4, but Perry prevailed with a bonus point for riding time to get the 5-4 win.

Iowa State grapplers fell twice in overtime tonight at Gallagher-Iba Arena in swing matches at 125 pounds and 184 pounds. At 184,Lelund Weatherspoon was handed an 11-9 loss by No. 20 Nolan Boyd in the first sudden victory period, and at 125, Earl Hall was handed a 4-2 loss by No. 15 Eddie Klimara in the first sudden victory period.

Weatherspoon came back after trailing 5-0 in the first period after getting caught on the edge trying to throw Boyd. He notched two reversals, a takedown and a two point nearfall in the ferocious comeback. A riding time point awarded to Boyd sent the match to overtime, where he eventually prevailed for the win.

Hall was in on two shots in overtime vs. Klimara in the first 30 seconds but was unable to capitalize on the scoring chances. Klimara won the match with takedown on the edge of the mat with 7 seconds remaining in the first sudden victory period.

Iowa State returns to the mat next week, as it heads southwest to battle Arizona State Saturday night in Tempe at 9 p.m. CT.

Match-By-Match Results:

125: No. 15 Eddie Klimara (OSU) dec. Earl Hall (ISU), 4-2 (SV-1)

133: No. 4 Jon Morrison (OSU) maj. dec. Shayden Terukina (ISU), 14-6

141: No. 20 Anthony Collica dec. Gabe Moreno (ISU), 4-0

149: No. 9 Josh Kindig dec. Luke Goettl (ISU), 8-5

157: No. 3 Alex Dieringer (OSU) maj. dec. John Nicholson (ISU), 14-3 

165: No. 5 Tyler Caldwell (OSU) dec. No. 10 Michael Moreno (ISU), 5-1

174: No.2 Chirs Perry (OSU) dec. No. 10 Tanner Weatherman (ISU), 5-4

184: No. 20 Nolan Boyd (OSU) dec. Lelund Weatherspoon (ISU), 11-9 (SV-1)

197: No. 2 Kyven Gadson (ISU) dec. Kyle Crutchmer (OSU), 3-1 

285: No. 18 Austin Marsden (OSU) dec. Quean Smith (ISU), 2-0



Cyclone Fanatic


Recent Posts