Olympic Sports

Big 12 wrestling seeds, information

Courtesy of Iowa State Athletic Communications

NORMAN, Okla. – Official seedings for Saturday’s Big 12 Wrestling Championships were announced by the league office Friday evening. Three Iowa State wrestlers hold No. 1 spots heading into tomorrow’s action. Seedings were finalized by a vote of the conference coaches and are based on head-to-head competition against Big 12 opponents, highest-ranked common opponents and current national rankings.

ISU’s Andrew Long (125), Jon Reader (165) and Jake Varner (197) are the top-seeds in their respective weight classes. The full weight-by-weight seedings are included below.

FOX Sports Midwest and FOX Sports Southwest will webcast the 2010 Big 12 Wrestling Championships final matches live on Saturday, March 6 beginning at approximately 7 p.m CT. Fans can watch the internet broadcast free of charge on FOXSportsMidwest.com or FOXSportsSouthwest.com by clicking on the Big 12 Wrestling Championship banner located on the home page.

Preliminary matches in the first session will be streamed live on Big12sports.com beginning at 11 a.m. CT.

FOX Sports Midwest also will televise a delayed broadcast of the championship event on Thursday, March 11 at 12:30 p.m. CST and Wednesday, March 17 at 8 p.m.

2010 Big 12 Championship Official Seeding 125 pounds No. 1: Andrew Long (ISU) No. 2: Jarrod Patterson (OU) No. 3: Chris Notte (OSU) No. 4: David Klingsheim (NU) No. 5: Eric Wilson (MU)

133 pounds No. 1: Jordan Oliver (OSU) No. 2: Nick Fanthorpe (ISU) No. 3: Kendric Maple (OU) No. 4: C.J. Napier (NU) No. 5: Nathan McCormick (MU)

141 pounds No. 1: Zack Bailey (OU) No. 2: Jamal Parks (OSU) No. 3: Todd Schavrien (MU) No. 4: Mike Koehnlein (NU) No. 5: Dalton Jensen (ISU)

149 pounds No. 1: Kyle Terry (OU) No. 2: Mitch Mueller (ISU) No. 3: Quinten Fuentes/Luke Silver (OSU) No. 4: Nicholas Hucke (MU) No. 5: Dustin Payne (NU)

157 pounds No. 1: Shane Vernon (OU) No. 2: Andrew Sorenson (ISU) No. 3: Neil Erisman (OSU) No. 4: Patrick Wright (MU) No. 5: Tyler Koehn (NU)

165 pounds No. 1: Jon Reader (ISU) No. 2: Nicholas Marable (MU) No. 3: Alex Meade (OSU) No. 4: Tyler Caldwell (OU) No. 5: James Nakashima (NU)

174 pounds No. 1: Stephen Dwyer (NU) No. 2: Mike Benefiel (OSU) No. 3: Jeff James (OU) No. 4: Duke Burk (ISU) No. 5: Dorian Henderson (MU)

184 pounds No. 1: Max Askren (MU) No. 2: Clayton Foster (OSU) No. 3: Jerome Ward (ISU) No. 4: Josh Ihnen (NU) No. 5: Erich Schmidtke (OU)

197 pounds No. 1: Jake Varner (ISU) No. 2: Craig Brester (NU) No. 3: Eric Lapotsky (OU) No. 4: Brent Haynes (MU) No. 5: Alan Gelogaev (OSU)

285 pounds No. 1: Jared Rosholt (OSU) No. 2: David Zabriskie (ISU) No. 3: Mark Ellis (MU) No. 4: Tucker Lane (NU) No. 5: Nathan Fernandez (OU)


Cyclone Fanatic