Penalty or not?

Discussion in 'Pro Sports' started by famwam, Sep 9, 2011.

  1. famwam

    famwam New Member

    Sep 8, 2011
    26
    1
    3
    Was I the only one watching the Packers vs Saints game that did NOT see any contact made by AJ Hawk in the end zone & thought it was just 1 hell of a great play? Nowhere & at no time did I see contact! It looked like it was a well time play by Hawk! Anybody else?
     
  2. Clonefan94

    Clonefan94 Well-Known Member

    Oct 18, 2006
    7,574
    261
    83
    Male
    Graphic Designer
    Schaumburg, IL
    Calls are blown all the time. At full speed, it's easy to see how that could be interpreted as PI on a first look. It's definitely not the worst PI call I've ever seen.
     
  3. 3TrueFans

    3TrueFans Well-Known Member

    Sep 10, 2009
    30,937
    1,255
    113
    Ames
    You can see Sprole's head get pushed forward by Hawk as the ball is in the air, good call. Almost a great play, just a tad early.
     
  4. famwam

    famwam New Member

    Sep 8, 2011
    26
    1
    3
    Looks like the timing was perfect! The bcak judge ANTICIPATED contact! He could not see from the angle he had if there was any contact at all! He ASSUMED there had to be contact! Great play!
     
  5. 3TrueFans

    3TrueFans Well-Known Member

    Sep 10, 2009
    30,937
    1,255
    113
    Ames
    Well now you're just being silly, how do you know what the back judge could see or was thinking? Unless Sproles has eyes in the back of his head and knew when to fake his head movement at the exact time Hawk's arm flew over his head it was early contact.
     
  6. RING4CY

    RING4CY Well-Known Member

    Mar 20, 2010
    8,001
    245
    63
    Photographer
    Ames, IA
    I thought it was a blown call, but after looking at the definition of PI in the NFL, it was in fact, a good call:

    NFL Rules Digest: Pass Interference
     
  7. famwam

    famwam New Member

    Sep 8, 2011
    26
    1
    3
    Yes, its THROUGH the back, not OVER the back without contact! I guess none of you Monday (or Friday) morning QBs have ever tried officiating? I know, because I have been a back judge before. So I do have a clue of what I'm talking about.
     
  8. RING4CY

    RING4CY Well-Known Member

    Mar 20, 2010
    8,001
    245
    63
    Photographer
    Ames, IA
    Obviously you don't know what you're talking about since I have officiated as well.
     
  9. Yes13

    Yes13 Well-Known Member

    Oct 9, 2009
    3,323
    128
    63
    Hawk almost took Sproles out, it was the right call. Lets just say if Hawk hadn't hit Sproles, Sproles would have caught it.
     
  10. 3TrueFans

    3TrueFans Well-Known Member

    Sep 10, 2009
    30,937
    1,255
    113
    Ames
    So you're just not going to respond to fact that Hawk hit him in the head before the ball got there?
     
  11. BCClone

    BCClone Well-Known Member

    Sep 4, 2011
    6,550
    206
    63
    North Iowa

    I stayed at a holiday inn express, even the green bay one. Therefore, I say it was not a penalty, but understood the call from the replay. Great play, but as fast as things happen I give the benefit to the ref.
     
  12. RING4CY

    RING4CY Well-Known Member

    Mar 20, 2010
    8,001
    245
    63
    Photographer
    Ames, IA
    Hawk's knee/thigh is clearly making contact with Sproles THROUGH the back, BEFORE the ball is there. That. Is. Pass. Interference.
     
  13. Yes13

    Yes13 Well-Known Member

    Oct 9, 2009
    3,323
    128
    63
    which took away his ability to jump, which took away his ability to catch, all before the ball got there. Yeah, that wasn't a PI :rolleyes:
     
  14. GMackey32

    GMackey32 Well-Known Member

    Nov 2, 2009
    5,570
    266
    83
    Food Microbiologist
    Ames Via Cedar Falls
    PWNED!
     
  15. cyclone87

    cyclone87 Well-Known Member

    Apr 6, 2011
    2,094
    28
    48
    Grad Assistant
    Ames, IA
    Looked like a reasonable PI call to me, Hawk definitely made contact from the back. He was really out of position to make a play, Sproles did a good job of getting inside of him, thought it was a good call.
     
  16. GMackey32

    GMackey32 Well-Known Member

    Nov 2, 2009
    5,570
    266
    83
    Food Microbiologist
    Ames Via Cedar Falls
    Anybody want to take bets that famwam is a Packer fan?
     
  17. cyclone87

    cyclone87 Well-Known Member

    Apr 6, 2011
    2,094
    28
    48
    Grad Assistant
    Ames, IA
    On another not I can't believe new orleans tried to run it up the gut after that. Think they would have scored if they had a time out to talk it over.
     
  18. AlleyAddict

    AlleyAddict Well-Known Member

    Jan 19, 2010
    2,609
    129
    63
    Ames
    He went over Sproles, not through him, but seeing where the ref that called it was standing, I can't blame him for making the call.
     
  19. Agclone91

    Agclone91 Well-Known Member

    Feb 5, 2011
    2,021
    39
    48
    Ames
    FIFY
     
  20. VeloClone

    VeloClone Well-Known Member

    Jan 19, 2010
    21,728
    739
    113
    Male
    Brooklyn Park, MN
    I doubted him until I found this pic of him officiating. famwam, they cut off half of your body in this pic...
     

Share This Page