Iowa State's Punt Coverage

Discussion in 'Football' started by Goothrey, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. Goothrey

    Goothrey Well-Known Member

    May 5, 2009
    4,510
    88
    48
    Student
    Austin, Tx
    I noticed we don't go after the ball, but I also noticed we don't block on the return either. What's the deal with this? I understand not going after it with the risk of running into or roughing the kicker, but there would be several longhorn players were untouched running down the field.....Lenz had no chance.
     
  2. 3TrueFans

    3TrueFans Well-Known Member

    Sep 10, 2009
    30,985
    1,273
    113
    Ames
    Yes, I'm sure that's exactly how they're coaching it. "Guys, we're not blocking the kick, but I don't want to see you blocking anyone either."
     
  3. Cychotiic

    Cychotiic Well-Known Member

    Nov 27, 2010
    1,487
    43
    48
    Ames
    What was the deal with that blocked punt? Why the flag, and then why the no call? I'm assuming the flag was for roughing the kicker which was blatantly obvious... So why the no call?
     
  4. cyclonespiker33

    cyclonespiker33 Well-Known Member

    Jan 19, 2011
    7,983
    193
    63
    Male
    ....they blocked the punt
     
  5. GoSTATE71

    GoSTATE71 Well-Known Member

    May 19, 2008
    3,723
    55
    48
    he blocked the punt
     
  6. Goothrey

    Goothrey Well-Known Member

    May 5, 2009
    4,510
    88
    48
    Student
    Austin, Tx
    If the ball is tipped/blocked, the punter can get hit.
     
  7. Cychotiic

    Cychotiic Well-Known Member

    Nov 27, 2010
    1,487
    43
    48
    Ames
    k so if he makes contact with the ball and hits the kicker its a no call? Did he make contact with the ball.. No need to be a smartass...
     
  8. brianhos

    brianhos Moderator
    Staff Member Bookie

    Jun 1, 2006
    41,135
    735
    113
    Computer geek
    Trenchtown
    If anyone touches the ball at all, the kicker is fair game.
     
  9. alarson

    alarson Well-Known Member

    Mar 15, 2006
    24,131
    1,072
    113
    Advertising sales
    Ankeny
    As a rules question, why is it this way? Either you're roughing the kicker or you're not, it doesnt make sense for the success of blocking the kick to be part of whether that is the call or not. Why should a failure to block by arriving a split second late be a penalty and a success of a block that takes out the kicker be ok? Seems either one or the other shouldnt be the case.
     
  10. 3TrueFans

    3TrueFans Well-Known Member

    Sep 10, 2009
    30,985
    1,273
    113
    Ames
    I think technically it's only the person who actually blocks the kick that can run into the kicker without a penalty.
     
  11. IcSyU

    IcSyU Well-Known Member

    Nov 27, 2007
    24,890
    1,041
    113
    Rochester, MN
    A play was made on the ball in one case, it wasn't in the other. You can't hit a receiver before he's had a chance to make a play on an untipped pass but he's free game if the pass is tipped.
     
  12. Rogue52

    Rogue52 Well-Known Member

    Oct 20, 2006
    6,645
    161
    63
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    I got a little annoyed in the stands because the white hat threw the flag when he had the best view of the ball being touched.
     
  13. IcSyU

    IcSyU Well-Known Member

    Nov 27, 2007
    24,890
    1,041
    113
    Rochester, MN
    He isn't watching the ball. His job is to protect the punter. Now you could argue he should've heard and seen it, but he should throw that flag and pick it up if necessary. You can always pick up a flag...he can't just wait until after the play and go, "Oh crap, they didn't get it. Too late to call it now!"
     
  14. MissouriCyclone

    MissouriCyclone Well-Known Member

    Jul 24, 2011
    3,195
    87
    48
    Landscape Deisgner
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    But if your watching the punter you should be able to see if the ball was blocked or not. I may not be the smartest person in the world but if I was watching the punter I would notice that.
     
  15. IcSyU

    IcSyU Well-Known Member

    Nov 27, 2007
    24,890
    1,041
    113
    Rochester, MN
    The thought process isn't "well, he was hit. Now where is the ball. Should I throw it?" You throw it right away. When there are 5 guys barreling down on one player, it isn't as easy of a call as you would think it is.
     
  16. CrossCyed

    CrossCyed Well-Known Member

    Mar 30, 2006
    9,473
    286
    83
    Oh, I do stuff
    Iowa
    Yep, it was called correctly. Once that ball was tipped, he was free game.

    Kirby also flattened a Texas guy at the end of the play.
     
  17. TedKumsher

    TedKumsher Well-Known Member

    Aug 30, 2007
    2,026
    54
    48
    Male
    Network Consultant
    Ames
    The better question -- why wasn't it called earlier in the game?
     
  18. Clonefan32

    Clonefan32 Well-Known Member

    Nov 19, 2008
    10,003
    435
    83
    So, at least theoretically, if a guy came through untouched could he tackle the punter before he kicks it? Or does he have to get the ball?
     
  19. MissouriCyclone

    MissouriCyclone Well-Known Member

    Jul 24, 2011
    3,195
    87
    48
    Landscape Deisgner
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Exactly, the 1st quarter he fell on the ground after a Texas player hit him. Happened right in front of me and no one called it. Terrible.
     
  20. IcSyU

    IcSyU Well-Known Member

    Nov 27, 2007
    24,890
    1,041
    113
    Rochester, MN
    Yep, you can tackle him in that case. He's no different than a running back while he has possession of the ball.

    and running into the kicker should've been called on the first one (I think) but it wouldn't have changed the outcome.
     

Share This Page