Inbound play by mizzou with 25 secs left?

Discussion in 'Mens Basketball' started by INCyclone, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. INCyclone

    INCyclone Member

    Jan 17, 2012
    126
    5
    18
    Indiana
    Just had a question about this inbounds play (not that it would have made any difference in the game, just didn't think it was legal).

    Scottie drained the 3 with 25.5 left and we called timeout. Then Mizzou's Denmon tried to inbound, couldn't and called another TO. They come out of timeout with Dixon inbounding the ball. He moves down the baseline and passed to Pressey who himself had stepped out of bounds behind the baseline and Pressey then passed back to Dixon who had come inbounds.


    Must have been legal or I'd imagine the ISU coaching staff would have come out of their seats. Is it legal to pass back and forth behind baseline as long as you get it in in 5 seconds? Have never seen that play done before.
     
  2. RollsRoyce

    RollsRoyce Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    589
    6
    18
    Cedar Falls
    Saw that too. legal play i assume. Does it really matter though?
     
  3. RollsRoyce

    RollsRoyce Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    589
    6
    18
    Cedar Falls
    (Don't take this seriously) 2 posts and you comment on this board. U a Troll??
     
  4. cycfan1

    cycfan1 Well-Known Member

    Nov 27, 2006
    3,382
    68
    48
    Student
    Ames
    Yes its legal... usually can pass it to the original inbounder pretty easy.

    Should be used more.
     
  5. cyclone357

    cyclone357 Member

    Dec 4, 2010
    193
    5
    18
    Legal play.
     
  6. alarson

    alarson Well-Known Member

    Mar 15, 2006
    24,117
    1,066
    113
    Advertising sales
    Ankeny
    I swear i'd never seen it before this year, yet have seen it more than once the last few weeks. Its not the first time i've seen the question asked recently either.
     
  7. ripvdub

    ripvdub Well-Known Member

    Mar 20, 2006
    7,704
    206
    63
    Sk-Ankeny
    Its legal, but aweek ago we got a TO got doing the same thing but all un intentional.
     
  8. WalkingCY

    WalkingCY Well-Known Member

    Sep 26, 2008
    5,589
    208
    63
    Kansas City
    Good question. If a timeout was called first.... is it then a deadball the next time they have to get the ball in? Or do they get to run the baseline again?
     
  9. dpo4isu

    dpo4isu Member

    Jun 1, 2006
    31
    1
    8
    High School Teacher and Coach
    Southwest IA
    After a made basket you can run the baseline and pass to another player out of bounds. If you are restricted to the spot then the play is illegal.
     
  10. Benny34

    Benny34 Member

    Nov 29, 2007
    776
    17
    18
    This. It is clearly legal after the bucket, but is it legal after the timeout? I am no basketball expert though...
     
  11. BoxsterCy

    BoxsterCy Well-Known Member

    Sep 14, 2009
    13,963
    480
    83
    Project Manager
    Minnesota
    Only after a made basket. Our WBB team used it a couple of games ago.
     
  12. CycloneGB

    CycloneGB Well-Known Member

    Jul 20, 2010
    2,070
    109
    63
    This thread just makes me realize I don't know as many rules about basketball as I think I do..
     
  13. klamath632

    klamath632 Well-Known Member

    Nov 19, 2011
    12,437
    319
    83
    Legal play. We ran this in high school all the time.

    We'd also do an inbounds play after a basket where the inbounder can run along the baseline-- if there wasn't enough time on the clock to get a good shot, we'd put a picker just inside the endline and run the guy defending the inbounder into the pick and half the time would get him to run the picker over and get some free throws out of it.
     
  14. cymate

    cymate Well-Known Member

    Oct 28, 2011
    1,175
    49
    48
    Ames, the labb
    anytime after a basket is made they can run the baseline and or do what ever they did. if you call a timeout after a made bucket you can also run the baseline.
     
  15. Benny34

    Benny34 Member

    Nov 29, 2007
    776
    17
    18
    Thank you.
     
  16. INCyclone

    INCyclone Member

    Jan 17, 2012
    126
    5
    18
    Indiana
    Exactly what I was thinking when I asked the question originally.
     
  17. cyrobb

    cyrobb Member

    Jan 1, 2012
    161
    4
    18
    Contractor
    Pleasant Hill
    after any made bucket, does not matter how many timeouts are used
     
  18. klamath632

    klamath632 Well-Known Member

    Nov 19, 2011
    12,437
    319
    83
    If you think about it, they're just intentionally doing what many people do when the wrong guy picks up the ball after a made basket. How many times do you see one guy out of bounds hand the ball to another guy, who then makes the inbound pass? No difference between these two situations.
     

Share This Page