CHOOSING Iowa State

TheHelgo

Mar 20, 2006
I completely disagree with Jon on his 'Choosing' diatribe. I grew up in Northern Iowa where everyone was a Hawk fan. So was I. i went to Iowa State due to other family being there, etc - even though i still preferred the hawkeyes. By the time i was a sophomore, i was die-hard ISU, and no longer a fan of Iowa. Call is a wearing down, or whatever, but I 'CHOSE' to then be a fan of ISU, and it has been growing ever since.

At first i still liked the hawks, but that feeling has since gone away and I now can't stand them!

So there Jon!

htownclone

Jan 3, 2007
I completely agree. I don't think his point is valid at all. I grew up in SE Iowa, where everyone is a hawkeye fan. I grew up a hawkeye fan until later when I "chose" to become a cyclone fan after going to basketball and football games in Ames.

RyCy04

Sep 26, 2007
Omaha, NE
I am a former Husker fan, went to ISU. I was shown the light there. Now live in Omaha. I chose Iowa State and still choose Iowa State.

Rogue52

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Oct 20, 2006
Cedar Rapids, IA
I didn't hear what's being discussed, but...

Living on the east side of the state is the primary reason I became a Cyclone fan.

acs4isu

Sep 8, 2006
West Des Moines
I have to admit I turned off JDM when he went on that diatribe. His plea of "Please Iowa, don't do anything like this" sounded like sour grapes to me. Once again, ADJP and his minions have trumped the foes to the east by showing that they are willing to provide ISU fans with the materials to show their loyalty without having to purchase anything. It seems to me to be a classic example of proactive marketing. "We're glad you chose Iowa State, and we're going to help you show your pride in your choice." Perfect.

jbhtexas

Oct 20, 2006
Arlington, TX
I think you should be fully supportive of JonDMiller in this most recent attempt to dissuade EIU from utilizing successful marketing techniques...

acs4isu

Sep 8, 2006
West Des Moines