Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 64,869, Level: 79
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 1,581
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    erikbj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    hiawatha, ia
    Posts
    4,925
    Points
    64,869
    Level
    79
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 56
    Given: 8

    computer question

    My home computer is blown up from last weeks issues on this site....the spyware / malaware software says i have no issues but my internet doesn't work and i get all kinds of pops up when i start it up.

    I think i just need to reformat my computer, however I have never done it before. Does someone have any good instructions or links they could send me? I could google it, but I really don't trust all of these sites that pop up.

    thanks



  2. #2
    Speechless
    Points: 380,888, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialOverdriveVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Wesley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    55,560
    Points
    380,888
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 145
    Given: 115

    Re: computer question

    Ask BOS.


    CFH HMagic bball season next year.
    Let my Fred's Four Horsemen ride: Georges, Hogue, Nader, and McKay.

  3. #3
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 8,498, Level: 27
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 252
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    hazleton
    Posts
    266
    Points
    8,498
    Level
    27
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: computer question

    try and run an antivirus in safe mode.
    malware is one that i usually run here when the pop ups show up.



  4. #4
    Legend
    Points: 378,734, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,291
    Points
    378,734
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 76
    Given: 91

    Re: computer question

    What version of windows? Also did you machine come with restore discs from the manufacturer?



  5. #5
    Speechless
    Points: 464,834, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    jdoggivjc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Posts
    31,222
    Points
    464,834
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 278
    Given: 179

    Re: computer question

    You could always try to do a system restore to a date before you started having your issues. Probably won't work, but it's worth a try. Formatting your machine isn't much of a big deal. Just stick the recovery disk that came with your computer into your drive, restart your computer, and follow the instructions. Make sure you save files you don't want to lose before you do this.


    Chuck Lidell: I paint my toenails with pink and black polish. Problem is, I get more paint on my toes and on the carpet than on my nails. Any advice?
    Maria Sharapova: Don't you beat up other guys for a living? I don't know how to answer this.



  6. #6
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 64,869, Level: 79
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 1,581
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    erikbj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    hiawatha, ia
    Posts
    4,925
    Points
    64,869
    Level
    79
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 56
    Given: 8

    Re: computer question

    Quote Originally Posted by ss View Post
    try and run an antivirus in safe mode.
    malware is one that i usually run here when the pop ups show up.
    did that and Spybot, both said i have no infections. then when i start up my computer it says i have security issues and some of my start up software is being blocked from starting, the internet doesn't work and then usually after a minute or two windows tries shutting everything down.



  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 378,734, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,291
    Points
    378,734
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 76
    Given: 91

    Re: computer question

    Quote Originally Posted by erikbj View Post
    did that and Spybot, both said i have no infections. then when i start up my computer it says i have security issues and some of my start up software is being blocked from starting, the internet doesn't work and then usually after a minute or two windows tries shutting everything down.

    That is because you have a reg entry that starts a replication process when you log on.



    Once it runs, its blocking you from updating av/mw scanning and using the internet.



  8. #8
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 64,869, Level: 79
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 1,581
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    erikbj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    hiawatha, ia
    Posts
    4,925
    Points
    64,869
    Level
    79
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 56
    Given: 8

    Re: computer question

    Quote Originally Posted by bos View Post
    What version of windows? Also did you machine come with restore discs from the manufacturer?
    vista and yes i have discs from the manufacture.



  9. #9
    Legend
    Points: 378,734, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,291
    Points
    378,734
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 76
    Given: 91

    Re: computer question

    Quote Originally Posted by erikbj View Post
    vista and yes i have discs from the manufacture.

    You have a couple of options, backup your stuff and do as mentioned about booting to the restore, or you can locate the reg entries and fix it that way.



  10. #10
    Legend Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    DaddyMac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14,375
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: computer question

    What do the pop ups say? Is it a kind of advertisement for "Security Suite"?

    McAfee didn't catch this either for me. But that malware was there and causing all this.

    Needed to run malwarebytes in safe mode, then make a change to your internet options and turn of the "use proxy server" setting.



  11. #11
    Legend
    Points: 198,834, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    12,929
    Points
    198,834
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 46
    Given: 108

    Re: computer question

    I have a PC down in the basement that I rarely use. It has windows 7 on it and has probably only ran 5 times since I built it. The other day I started it up and it had a virus. I kept getting the warning that it was going to shut down in a minute. Here is what i did.

    Went to another PC and downloaded Malwarebytes on a memory stick

    I then went into safe mode on the PC and installed the software and let it run. It found 8 problems and fixed them

    I then rebooted into normal mode and didn't get the error but my firefox couldn't get an internet connection. I went into the firefox settings and set it to "no proxy" and then everything ran perfect.

    I also downloaded AGV and ran it as well.



  12. #12
    Legend
    Points: 378,734, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,291
    Points
    378,734
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 76
    Given: 91

    Re: computer question

    I usually recommend MWB as well, but I have a sneaking suspicion it wont work. Give it a shot though.



  13. #13
    All-Star
    Points: 28,634, Level: 51
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,957
    Points
    28,634
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: computer question

    Quote Originally Posted by DaddyMac View Post
    What do the pop ups say? Is it a kind of advertisement for "Security Suite"?

    McAfee didn't catch this either for me. But that malware was there and causing all this.

    Needed to run malwarebytes in safe mode, then make a change to your internet options and turn of the "use proxy server" setting.
    This is what I had to do. I had found pretty good instructions online, and printed them out, but I can't remember the site I got the info from, and the printouts are at home...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 06:00 PM