Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 51
  1. #1
    Publisher
    Points: 848,821, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation First ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    ChrisMWilliams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    17,257
    Points
    848,821
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,712
    Given: 423

    Question about my router

    Hey tech guys --- I am having issues with my wireless router that I've never had before. The thing quits working like five to six times a day. I just go and unplug it and plug it back in and it starts working again. It has never done this before. Is it crapping out on me?



  2. #2
    Legend
    Points: 395,403, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 38.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24,292
    Points
    395,403
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,080
    Given: 919

    Re: Question about my router

    It can be a number of things, but most likely its crapping out. Sometimes your modem will be crapping out and constantly be dropping the IP which will in turn cause your router to renew or lose all together. Which one do you have? There could be a firmware update that may fix the issue as well.



  3. #3
    Speechless
    Points: 664,209, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    26,341
    Points
    664,209
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3,957
    Given: 411

    Re: Question about my router

    Probably need to flush the router fluid.



  4. #4
    Pro
    Points: 62,504, Level: 77
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 746
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    azn4cy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    DSM
    Posts
    3,089
    Points
    62,504
    Level
    77
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Question about my router

    The cheaper the router, the more likely it needs a reset after high traffic.

    What model do you have?



  5. #5
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 61,466, Level: 76
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    CycoCyclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Urbandale
    Posts
    4,754
    Points
    61,466
    Level
    76
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 77
    Given: 337

    Re: Question about my router

    I would start with the modem, I had this problem with mediacom, they flipped out the modem and haven't looked back since.


    John Walters is my hero

  6. #6
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 84,703, Level: 90
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 847
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsCreated Album pictures
    azepp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    3,964
    Points
    84,703
    Level
    90
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 185
    Given: 128

    Re: Question about my router

    Quote Originally Posted by 3TrueFans View Post
    Probably need to flush the router fluid.
    ^^^ I concur.



  7. #7
    Publisher
    Points: 848,821, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation First ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    ChrisMWilliams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    17,257
    Points
    848,821
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,712
    Given: 423

    Re: Question about my router

    It is a Linksys 2.4. It is well over four years old.



  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 63,530, Level: 78
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 1,320
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,476
    Points
    63,530
    Level
    78
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 10

    Re: Question about my router

    Does the wireless signal drop, or does the internet connection drop?

    Wireless signal dropping means the radio is messed up somehow, and you probably need a new one.

    Internet just stopping working could be a variety of issues, including your ISP or cabling between the two.


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  9. #9
    Starter
    Points: 15,928, Level: 38
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 522
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    ce1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    964
    Points
    15,928
    Level
    38
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 12
    Given: 47

    Re: Question about my router

    DSL or Cable Modem?

    If it's cable modem, it could be the attenuation of the signal on the cable. I had that problem two years ago, and it produced identical symptoms to what you're describing. In my case, the cable to my house had three splices in it before it even made it to the house. Comcast came out, and replaced the pole-to-house cable with a single, long piece, and it solved the problem. This can also happen if you splice the cable too many times in route to the wireless router, or if you use the cheaper, Radio Shack, splitters.

    (Again if it's cable modem) Your cable company has a nice piece of handheld equipment that they can simply plug in at the point where the cable meets your cable modem, and tell you if the signal strength is sufficient. They'll usually do this for free, if you call and tell them about your problem.


    "It's just another gym" -- Jamaal Tinsley, on playing at Phog Allen Fieldhouse

  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 57,414, Level: 74
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 1,136
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5,133
    Points
    57,414
    Level
    74
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 88
    Given: 13

    Re: Question about my router

    I use a Milwaukee router and have never had any trouble even using big bits on very hard wood.



  11. #11
    Addict
    Points: 128,770, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    ianoconnor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    7,954
    Points
    128,770
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 899
    Given: 1,893

    Re: Question about my router

    Quote Originally Posted by HititHard View Post
    I use a Milwaukee router and have never had any trouble even using big bits on very hard wood.



  12. #12
    Recruit
    Points: 6,062, Level: 23
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 488
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    103
    Points
    6,062
    Level
    23
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Question about my router

    Quote Originally Posted by HititHard View Post
    I use a Milwaukee router and have never had any trouble even using big bits on very hard wood.
    That was my exact thought too when I saw the thread title.



  13. #13
    Rookie
    Points: 10,371, Level: 30
    Level completed: 71%, Points required for next Level: 179
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    373
    Points
    10,371
    Level
    30
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Question about my router

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisMWilliams View Post
    It is a Linksys 2.4. It is well over four years old.
    not a tech guy, but we had the same one and it did the same thing at about the same timeline, we tried a couple things then just replaced it.



  14. #14
    Publisher
    Points: 848,821, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation First ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    ChrisMWilliams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    17,257
    Points
    848,821
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,712
    Given: 423

    Re: Question about my router

    Quote Originally Posted by soccercy View Post
    not a tech guy, but we had the same one and it did the same thing at about the same timeline, we tried a couple things then just replaced it.
    I am thinking that I'll have to do this. Thanks for the heads up.



  15. #15
    Addict
    Points: 57,414, Level: 74
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 1,136
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5,133
    Points
    57,414
    Level
    74
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 88
    Given: 13

    Re: Question about my router

    A man has to have quality tools. Someday when I grow up I want to be like that Yankee Woodshop guy and just grab a different router instead of changing bits.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: TBD
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. UNI
  • August 29, 2015
  • 06:00 PM