Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Walk On
    Points: 6,598, Level: 24
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 452
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    202
    Points
    6,598
    Level
    24
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 1

    Question about Dish Network

    I live in southeastern Iowa and have had Dish now since the bowl game last year. I must have heard the sales guy wrong when he told me that I would receive all the Fox Sports channels if I picked the "silver" package.
    Maybe I am just blind but I don't seem to see ANY Fox Sports channels. Does anybody else have Dish and get these channels? What do I need to do to get these channels before the season starts? Thanks!



  2. #2
    Pro
    Points: 58,649, Level: 75
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 1,401
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    CloneState1028's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ames, IA via Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    3,273
    Points
    58,649
    Level
    75
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    Just FWIW I have 418, FS-MW, and it's for Cardinals games mostly (STL). Do the channels show up in the guide at all?? For me they all do...



  3. #3
    Pro
    Points: 58,290, Level: 74
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    intrepid27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Marion, IA
    Posts
    2,577
    Points
    58,290
    Level
    74
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 95
    Given: 84

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    3 years ago I switched form Direct to Dish. I SPECIFICALLY asked the sales rep TWICE if I could add all the Fox sports later and he said yes. When football season came around I tried to add them and was told I could not. I called several times and the answer I got was that Clearfiles had rights to Fox sports in Iowa and they could not be added. I'm currently back on Direct TV. I'm guessing you did not hear him wrong I'm guesing he lied to you.



  4. #4
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 41,291, Level: 62
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    HandSanitizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bondurant, IA
    Posts
    3,602
    Points
    41,291
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 34
    Given: 0

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    I think I pay 5.99 for the sports pack



  5. #5
    Speechless
    Points: 356,267, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Tre4ISU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Estherville
    Posts
    18,953
    Points
    356,267
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 328
    Given: 43

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    I have the 200 package and I am supposed to have FSMW and FSNN


    I'm on Twitter too: Tre4ISU

    Or so I have read.

  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 94,915, Level: 95
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 135
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    CYdTracked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    8,695
    Points
    94,915
    Level
    95
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 7
    Given: 7

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    I think you can pay an extra $6 for the FSN package or something. I have the 250 channel lineup and get at least 1 or 2 of the FSN channels by default and usually when the ISU game is on one of them I usually have it just for that game it seems like.

    BTW, Dish is offering free HD for life. I stopped by the Dish booth at the fair this week to get more info since I already have them. Your package price won't go up if you upgrade to HD. You may have to pay to upgrade your receiver based on how long you have been with them but they said at most it would be a 1 time fee around $50 if not a free upgrade possibly depending on your situation. I'm going to check that out. I also saw on their site that you can expand your DVR capacity with some of the receivers too, just buy an external hard drive if you have a receiver with the capability then you call in and pay a 1 time activation fee of like $40 for them to send the programming to that drive.


    Go Cubs Go!

  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 386,311, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,668
    Points
    386,311
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 472
    Given: 316

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    Quote Originally Posted by intrepid27 View Post
    3 years ago I switched form Direct to Dish. I SPECIFICALLY asked the sales rep TWICE if I could add all the Fox sports later and he said yes. When football season came around I tried to add them and was told I could not. I called several times and the answer I got was that Clearfiles had rights to Fox sports in Iowa and they could not be added. I'm currently back on Direct TV. I'm guessing you did not hear him wrong I'm guesing he lied to you.
    I bet more to the fact that he didnt know or understand. I get this from all companies, they fail in training some folks.



  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 119,772, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    simply1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    5,288
    Points
    119,772
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 28
    Given: 2

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    Yeah, 418 is fox mw, cardinals right now.


    I don't do signatures. Blondes, brunettes, and red heads are a different story.

  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 119,772, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    simply1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    5,288
    Points
    119,772
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 28
    Given: 2

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    also there are mistakes in programming, I had to call and have programming added that was supposed to be there and wasn't.


    I don't do signatures. Blondes, brunettes, and red heads are a different story.

  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 94,915, Level: 95
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 135
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    CYdTracked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    8,695
    Points
    94,915
    Level
    95
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 7
    Given: 7

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    A few links for you Dish folks if you haven't upgraded. I'm planning to call soon to see what I can do since I have older receivers and no HD programming at the moment. What sucks is probably will lose all the saved DVR stuff on my current receiver but I'd bet about 80% of it is dumb shows the wife watches anyways that I would not miss!

    DVR with external drive: DISH Network - Never Run Out of DVR Space Again

    Upgrade your receiver:
    DISH Network - 1.800.823.4929

    HD Channel Lineups by package:
    HDTV - Dish HD Channels & HD Satellite Dish - DISH Network


    Go Cubs Go!

  11. #11
    Starter
    Points: 9,919, Level: 29
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    CycloneJames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    757
    Points
    9,919
    Level
    29
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 4
    Given: 18

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    Quote Originally Posted by TuckerBlayze View Post
    I live in southeastern Iowa and have had Dish now since the bowl game last year. I must have heard the sales guy wrong when he told me that I would receive all the Fox Sports channels if I picked the "silver" package.
    Maybe I am just blind but I don't seem to see ANY Fox Sports channels. Does anybody else have Dish and get these channels? What do I need to do to get these channels before the season starts? Thanks!
    Like others have said, you need to buy the $6/month sports package to get all the fox sports and comcast sports. Otherwise you will get the regional channel of each. Personally, I think the sports package is not worth it because you get a bunch of sports alternate channels and most out of market football games I want to watch will show up on there. I have the 250 plan, so maybe its different for other packages.



  12. #12
    All-Star
    Points: 38,106, Level: 60
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 944
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    ISU_phoria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Andover, MN
    Posts
    1,875
    Points
    38,106
    Level
    60
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 13
    Given: 1

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    Like others have mentioned, I too pay about $6/mo for the local Fox Sports Channel. I believe it's called the "Sports Plus" option or something like that.

    I'd just give Dish another call 800.333.DISH and talk with a rep about options and costs.



  13. #13
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 108,970, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,002
    Points
    108,970
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 205
    Given: 215

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    Quote Originally Posted by TuckerBlayze View Post
    I live in southeastern Iowa and have had Dish now since the bowl game last year. I must have heard the sales guy wrong when he told me that I would receive all the Fox Sports channels if I picked the "silver" package.
    Maybe I am just blind but I don't seem to see ANY Fox Sports channels. Does anybody else have Dish and get these channels? What do I need to do to get these channels before the season starts? Thanks!
    If you get the silver package you get your regional Fox channel (Fox Sports Midwest) plus I think a Comcast channel. To get ALL the Fox channels you have to subscribe to the sports pack, which is now $7 a month. That also gets you the NFL RedZone channel so it is totally worth it.



  14. #14
    Addict
    Points: 114,293, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Cybyassociation's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5,958
    Points
    114,293
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 61
    Given: 54

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    This is a bit of a diversion from Dish...I just got Direct TV...what is the usual quality for HD on Direct TV? I'm getting 480p which is crap. I was told it would be 1080


    EDIT: nm, I got it figured out.


    Last edited by Cybyassociation; 08-16-2010 at 08:54 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Fox Sports 1
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM