Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Walk On
    Points: 7,457, Level: 25
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    218
    Points
    7,457
    Level
    25
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 6
    Given: 1

    Question about Dish Network

    I live in southeastern Iowa and have had Dish now since the bowl game last year. I must have heard the sales guy wrong when he told me that I would receive all the Fox Sports channels if I picked the "silver" package.
    Maybe I am just blind but I don't seem to see ANY Fox Sports channels. Does anybody else have Dish and get these channels? What do I need to do to get these channels before the season starts? Thanks!



  2. #2
    Pro
    Points: 58,649, Level: 75
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 1,401
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    CloneState1028's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ames, IA via Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    3,273
    Points
    58,649
    Level
    75
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    Just FWIW I have 418, FS-MW, and it's for Cardinals games mostly (STL). Do the channels show up in the guide at all?? For me they all do...



  3. #3
    Pro
    Points: 62,596, Level: 77
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 654
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    intrepid27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Marion, IA
    Posts
    2,828
    Points
    62,596
    Level
    77
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 266
    Given: 328

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    3 years ago I switched form Direct to Dish. I SPECIFICALLY asked the sales rep TWICE if I could add all the Fox sports later and he said yes. When football season came around I tried to add them and was told I could not. I called several times and the answer I got was that Clearfiles had rights to Fox sports in Iowa and they could not be added. I'm currently back on Direct TV. I'm guessing you did not hear him wrong I'm guesing he lied to you.



  4. #4
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 42,729, Level: 63
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 221
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    HandSanitizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Central US
    Posts
    3,798
    Points
    42,729
    Level
    63
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 101
    Given: 2

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    I think I pay 5.99 for the sports pack



  5. #5
    Speechless
    Points: 353,212, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Tre4ISU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Estherville
    Posts
    20,515
    Points
    353,212
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,236
    Given: 159

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    I have the 200 package and I am supposed to have FSMW and FSNN


    It's all snark from here on out

  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 97,878, Level: 97
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 1,172
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    CYdTracked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Grimes, IA
    Posts
    9,120
    Points
    97,878
    Level
    97
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 176
    Given: 528

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    I think you can pay an extra $6 for the FSN package or something. I have the 250 channel lineup and get at least 1 or 2 of the FSN channels by default and usually when the ISU game is on one of them I usually have it just for that game it seems like.

    BTW, Dish is offering free HD for life. I stopped by the Dish booth at the fair this week to get more info since I already have them. Your package price won't go up if you upgrade to HD. You may have to pay to upgrade your receiver based on how long you have been with them but they said at most it would be a 1 time fee around $50 if not a free upgrade possibly depending on your situation. I'm going to check that out. I also saw on their site that you can expand your DVR capacity with some of the receivers too, just buy an external hard drive if you have a receiver with the capability then you call in and pay a 1 time activation fee of like $40 for them to send the programming to that drive.


    Go Cubs Go!

  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 397,224, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24,722
    Points
    397,224
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,668
    Given: 1,235

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    Quote Originally Posted by intrepid27 View Post
    3 years ago I switched form Direct to Dish. I SPECIFICALLY asked the sales rep TWICE if I could add all the Fox sports later and he said yes. When football season came around I tried to add them and was told I could not. I called several times and the answer I got was that Clearfiles had rights to Fox sports in Iowa and they could not be added. I'm currently back on Direct TV. I'm guessing you did not hear him wrong I'm guesing he lied to you.
    I bet more to the fact that he didnt know or understand. I get this from all companies, they fail in training some folks.



  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 60,721, Level: 76
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 929
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    simply1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    5,647
    Points
    60,721
    Level
    76
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 93
    Given: 8

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    Yeah, 418 is fox mw, cardinals right now.


    I don't do signatures. Blondes, brunettes, and red heads are a different story.

  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 60,721, Level: 76
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 929
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    simply1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    5,647
    Points
    60,721
    Level
    76
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 93
    Given: 8

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    also there are mistakes in programming, I had to call and have programming added that was supposed to be there and wasn't.


    I don't do signatures. Blondes, brunettes, and red heads are a different story.

  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 97,878, Level: 97
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 1,172
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    CYdTracked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Grimes, IA
    Posts
    9,120
    Points
    97,878
    Level
    97
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 176
    Given: 528

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    A few links for you Dish folks if you haven't upgraded. I'm planning to call soon to see what I can do since I have older receivers and no HD programming at the moment. What sucks is probably will lose all the saved DVR stuff on my current receiver but I'd bet about 80% of it is dumb shows the wife watches anyways that I would not miss!

    DVR with external drive: DISH Network - Never Run Out of DVR Space Again

    Upgrade your receiver:
    DISH Network - 1.800.823.4929

    HD Channel Lineups by package:
    HDTV - Dish HD Channels & HD Satellite Dish - DISH Network


    Go Cubs Go!

  11. #11
    Starter
    Points: 10,629, Level: 31
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 621
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    CycloneJames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    784
    Points
    10,629
    Level
    31
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 68

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    Quote Originally Posted by TuckerBlayze View Post
    I live in southeastern Iowa and have had Dish now since the bowl game last year. I must have heard the sales guy wrong when he told me that I would receive all the Fox Sports channels if I picked the "silver" package.
    Maybe I am just blind but I don't seem to see ANY Fox Sports channels. Does anybody else have Dish and get these channels? What do I need to do to get these channels before the season starts? Thanks!
    Like others have said, you need to buy the $6/month sports package to get all the fox sports and comcast sports. Otherwise you will get the regional channel of each. Personally, I think the sports package is not worth it because you get a bunch of sports alternate channels and most out of market football games I want to watch will show up on there. I have the 250 plan, so maybe its different for other packages.



  12. #12
    All-Star
    Points: 38,846, Level: 60
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 204
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    ISU_phoria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Andover, MN
    Posts
    1,930
    Points
    38,846
    Level
    60
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 42
    Given: 6

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    Like others have mentioned, I too pay about $6/mo for the local Fox Sports Channel. I believe it's called the "Sports Plus" option or something like that.

    I'd just give Dish another call 800.333.DISH and talk with a rep about options and costs.



  13. #13
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 129,791, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,587
    Points
    129,791
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 770
    Given: 728

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    Quote Originally Posted by TuckerBlayze View Post
    I live in southeastern Iowa and have had Dish now since the bowl game last year. I must have heard the sales guy wrong when he told me that I would receive all the Fox Sports channels if I picked the "silver" package.
    Maybe I am just blind but I don't seem to see ANY Fox Sports channels. Does anybody else have Dish and get these channels? What do I need to do to get these channels before the season starts? Thanks!
    If you get the silver package you get your regional Fox channel (Fox Sports Midwest) plus I think a Comcast channel. To get ALL the Fox channels you have to subscribe to the sports pack, which is now $7 a month. That also gets you the NFL RedZone channel so it is totally worth it.



  14. #14
    Addict
    Points: 116,824, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Cybyassociation's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6,357
    Points
    116,824
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 249
    Given: 255

    Re: Question about Dish Network

    This is a bit of a diversion from Dish...I just got Direct TV...what is the usual quality for HD on Direct TV? I'm getting 480p which is crap. I was told it would be 1080


    EDIT: nm, I got it figured out.


    Last edited by Cybyassociation; 08-16-2010 at 08:54 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.TV
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. UNI
  • September 5, 2015
  • 07:00 PM