Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Legend
    Points: 208,326, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 27.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,627
    Points
    208,326
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 310
    Given: 478

    Networking question

    I have a networking question. I currently have a modem going to a wireless router. I'm not able to pick up a good signal in the basement. With that being said, I have one of the wireless router ports going down to the basement and it's connected to a basic switch, which works fine.

    Can I connect another wireless router to one of those ports on the switch? How will I manage that wireless router? Do you think I'll be able to just put it an IP like a standard wireless router?



  2. #2
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 10,984, Level: 31
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 266
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    276
    Points
    10,984
    Level
    31
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 7
    Given: 4

    Re: Networking question

    Quote Originally Posted by dmclone View Post
    I have a networking question. I currently have a modem going to a wireless router. I'm not able to pick up a good signal in the basement. With that being said, I have one of the wireless router ports going down to the basement and it's connected to a basic switch, which works fine.

    Can I connect another wireless router to one of those ports on the switch? How will I manage that wireless router? Do you think I'll be able to just put it an IP like a standard wireless router?
    How does the modem connect to the wireless router? If it uses ethernet, then it would be easier just to run the ethernet cable from the modem to the basement and put your wireless router down there.



  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 208,326, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 27.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,627
    Points
    208,326
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 310
    Given: 478

    Re: Networking question

    Quote Originally Posted by kansascy View Post
    How does the modem connect to the wireless router? If it uses ethernet, then it would be easier just to run the ethernet cable from the modem to the basement and put your wireless router down there.
    But then my wireless signal on the 2nd floor would be bad.



  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 93,595, Level: 95
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 1,455
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,203
    Points
    93,595
    Level
    95
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 7

    Re: Networking question

    Quote Originally Posted by dmclone View Post
    But then my wireless signal on the 2nd floor would be bad.
    Buy a wireless repeater, they can extend your signal and just plug into a power outlet



  5. #5
    Rookie
    Points: 10,333, Level: 30
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 217
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures10000 Experience Points
    cycoticfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Johnston IA
    Posts
    429
    Points
    10,333
    Level
    30
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 1

    Re: Networking question

    buy a wireless access point and connect it to the switch in the basement. I suggest the linksys WAP4410N. If you need fast access you can't beat it. I have this on my network feeding wireless video to my tv from a media server. Make sure you configure WPA2 security. This thing has tremendous range. My son just got a new xbox with built-in wireless n and he is using it on the 2nd floor while the WAP is in the basement



  6. #6
    Pro
    Points: 55,041, Level: 72
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 509
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    AlleyAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    2,608
    Points
    55,041
    Level
    72
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Networking question

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    Buy a wireless repeater, they can extend your signal and just plug into a power outlet
    I got one of those and it messed up my whole house's internet, and I've heard they're not recommended. Wouldn't go there.



  7. #7
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 11,870, Level: 32
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    CloneBack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    272
    Points
    11,870
    Level
    32
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

    Re: Networking question

    Quote Originally Posted by dmclone View Post
    I have a networking question. I currently have a modem going to a wireless router. I'm not able to pick up a good signal in the basement. With that being said, I have one of the wireless router ports going down to the basement and it's connected to a basic switch, which works fine.

    Can I connect another wireless router to one of those ports on the switch? How will I manage that wireless router? Do you think I'll be able to just put it an IP like a standard wireless router?

    Depending on your technical abilities might I recommend you find or buy an existing compatible router and install dd-wrt. You can configure it as a "bridge" to your existing wireless network. Wireless Bridge - DD-WRT Wiki


    Ron freaking Swanson

  8. #8
    All-Star
    Points: 41,195, Level: 62
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 455
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,803
    Points
    41,195
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 0

    Re: Networking question

    Just plug it in, it will work fine



  9. #9
    Pro
    Points: 23,244, Level: 46
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 306
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    10000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    2,126
    Points
    23,244
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Networking question

    buy 2 routers and put one upstairs and one in the basement...problem solved



  10. #10
    Legend
    Points: 208,326, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 27.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,627
    Points
    208,326
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 310
    Given: 478

    Re: Networking question

    Quote Originally Posted by hawkeyeh8r View Post
    buy 2 routers and put one upstairs and one in the basement...problem solved


    That's what I originally proposed but do you think I will just use the standard ip to config it?



  11. #11
    Legend Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    DaddyMac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14,375
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Networking question

    Most of my house is wired (PS3, TV, desktop), But I have a wireless for phones and laptops.

    Got my modem going into the wired router, then one of the lines going out to the wireless which I have upstairs, somewhat centrally located. Biggest problem for me placing it downstairs was I have two block foundation walls that really block the signal. And one of the techs at work told me that signal goes "down" better than "up". Don't know why... probably BS, but whatever.

    Anyway, I think the only thing I really had to do was turn off the DHCP server on the wireless - and let the wired handle the IP distribution.

    Here's the directions I used. Don't think there's any reason why you couldn't do the same with two wireless - one with wired ports.

    http://www.dslwebserver.com/main/fr_...ess-point.html



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: TBD
  • Iowa State vs. Oklahoma
  • November 1, 2014
  • 07:00 PM